You are here

Pro Tools HD

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Pro Tools HD

Postby _ Six _ » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:38 pm

So it's been a month or two.. worth the £600 quid or so to migrate from Logic 8?

I could do with a workflow change
User avatar
_ Six _
Frequent Poster
Posts: 823
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Pro Tools HD

Postby Scope » Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:05 pm

Depends on what you see as important.

First off, I think PT sounds better than Logic ( using the same audio files and interface & monitors.)
To my ears, the top end is crisper and has much more spacial definition and the bottom end is tighter, less flabby or muddy.

I love the plugins for their sheer quality, ( with 1 exception ).
Even the free one "Xpand!" is a great sounding all-rounder.
Structure ( also available in a free version) gives you access to your EXS24 library.

PT is cross platform and with the ilok, very portable.
PT is STILL a global standard, so if like me you tour occasionally, there are never any compatibility issues.

On the downside, its usually expensive.
The work flow with Midi is still kak compared to Logic / Cubase etc, which inhibits creativity.
Vacuum ( analog synth instrument) is horrid !
- A vile farty squeaky pile of virtual vomit, ( that's the one exception ).

The biggest downer is that HD is locked to a particular hardware configuration.
So when the time comes for PCI Express to move aside for the next interface, be ready for a bill.

I use both Logic and PT on a regular basis.
Both have their pros and cons.
My personal opinion is that they complement each other and truth be told, I would not be without either.
Scope
Frequent Poster
Posts: 551
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Pro Tools HD

Postby Billum » Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:24 pm

Remember that Pro Tools 9 is now no longer tied to hardware, unless you are going the full HD or HD Native routes, so it'll work either with your Mac built-in audio, or your existing audio interfaces you've been using with Logic.

If you went Native or HD, it would be a lot more than £600, unfortunately, but PT 9 with the Complete Production Toolkit v2 is very nearly the same functionality as HD but using your existing interfaces (so you don't get the PT HD zero latency monitoring or TDM plug-in support).
Billum
Regular
Posts: 287
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: Pro Tools HD

Postby narcoman » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:10 pm

Scope wrote:Depends on what you see as important.
Absolutely right - but in 2011 I reckon there are now very few reasons to ever change DAW. Only if you need PTs timecode functions and things like slick VCAs should yu change - and that's certainly not going to be a composer.


Scope wrote:
First off, I think PT sounds better than Logic ( using the same audio files and interface & monitors.)
To my ears, the top end is crisper and has much more spacial definition and the bottom end is tighter, less flabby or muddy.
Well - that's just not true. But I'll allow it since you said"to you ears"....

Scope wrote:
I love the plugins for their sheer quality, ( with 1 exception ).
Even the free one "Xpand!" is a great sounding all-rounder.
Structure ( also available in a free version) gives you access to your EXS24 library.
Well - many of the plugins available for PT are great. But there are also great VST and AU - in fact most of he best plugins cross over all three formats. There are some excellent TDM only ones - but there aer also some great VST only ones. Such is life.

Scope wrote:
PT is cross platform and with the ilok, very portable.
PT is STILL a global standard, so if like me you tour occasionally, there are never any compatibility issues.
Yup - I can go along wih that. But it's also pretty true of other DAWs.

Scope wrote:
On the downside, its usually expensive.
Only TDM now. The rest are cheaper than Nuendo!!

Scope wrote:
The work flow with Midi is still kak compared to Logic / Cubase etc, which inhibits creativity.
Which isn't true at all and leads me to think you've not explored it at all! There are some MIDI functions in PT which are better than the rivals. There are also a number of functions missing. Editing velocities, for example, PT, is class leading..... Differences - I can run with - but not better {or worse}.

Scope wrote:
Vacuum ( analog synth instrument) is horrid !
- A vile farty squeaky pile of virtual vomit, ( that's the one exception ).
You're alone on that one. Brilliant synth for bass lines. Used it on quite a few films as an enhancer to whats there!! Very useful ....

Scope wrote:

The biggest downer is that HD is locked to a particular hardware configuration.
So when the time comes for PCI Express to move aside for the next interface, be ready for a bill.
True - but true of Symphony if you've bought PCIe card!!

Scope wrote:

I use both Logic and PT on a regular basis.
Both have their pros and cons.
My personal opinion is that they complement each other and truth be told, I would not be without either.
Agreed. All DAWs have their pluses and to be honest, complaints of any of them are :

a) minor .... as in it's mostly good news!
b) generally come from the great masses of those who don't use hem in earnest but read something somewhere!!
narcoman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Battenburg to the power of 20 - said by Richie Royale in a moment of genius. 4pm. Wed 16th Nov 2011. Remember where you were....

Re: Pro Tools HD

Postby blackmagicdisco » Sat Mar 03, 2012 12:57 pm

Ive been thinking the same, like previous poster said, a combo of Logic/Ableton and Pro Tools is probably the way to go, depending on your workflow. I love the workflow in Ableton, but I couldnt imagine mixing down a track in that Fisher Price style mixer
Thing that concerns me the most, is that Logic 9 on my quadcore iMac performs brilliantly with some pretty heavy plugins running but ive heard that the RTAS performance of plugins is not great.

Also I mix as I go along, so to finish writing a song, then have to export audio and start the mixdown process from scratch doesnt really fit with my workflow.
blackmagicdisco
Regular
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Pro Tools HD

Postby Poly » Sat Mar 03, 2012 3:12 pm

I've been using Pro Tools for over 10 years now, and for 7 years now I run my studio with Pro Tools HD.

Cliché but true: if it matches your way of thinking about music and sound, it'll work for you. I use PT HD professionally on a daily basis for composing and mixing. For me, music is structured sound.

If your approach (as valid as any other) is more score-based, Pro Tools might really suck for you.
:-)
Poly
Poster
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 11:00 pm

PolycorpMedia

ProTools HD10 / 24ch Lynx Aurora / API / SSL / A-Designs / TK-Audio / SPL / Raindirk / Hearback


Re: Pro Tools HD

Postby Scope » Sun Mar 04, 2012 11:55 am

It helps to remember that when discussing preferences, we are all expressing opinions, not facts.
Scope
Frequent Poster
Posts: 551
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest