You are here

Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby Kaw-Liga » Wed Aug 24, 2011 9:07 am

Hi,
Has anybody found a way to use Logic screen-sets together with full-screen in Lion?
Kaw-Liga
Regular
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:00 pm

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby si king » Thu Aug 25, 2011 12:00 pm

Logic seems to work well in full screen in 10.7, when I enter it I am able to drag all my open plugs and other Logic windows into the second screen no problem.
si king
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 12:00 am

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby Dryjoy » Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:48 pm

I haven't found a way to use screensets in full screen mode, and it's really annoying, because I like full screen a lot but not having screensets is too annoying.
Dryjoy
Poster
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby Kaw-Liga » Wed Aug 31, 2011 2:50 pm

Doesn't seem to be possible, and I'm not sure it will be... "mission control" makes a new window for every fullscreen thing, and I guess it would freak out if logic occupied five (or up to ninety-nine) of those windows.... but then again, apple should be able to get that right.
Kaw-Liga
Regular
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:00 pm

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby chris... » Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:13 pm

What does full screen mode bring to the party, apart from hiding the menu bar ?

( that's hardly a lot of space )

I assume you have Dock hiding turned on, which saves far more space
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2685
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby BenParks » Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:20 pm

Sorry if this is a basic question but is Logic the only Mac-only DAW? It says here that it is... http://bit.ly/qublXC
BenParks
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2011 11:00 pm

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby Chevytraveller » Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:28 pm

MOTU Digital Performer is Mac only.. I think there might be a few others


User avatar
Chevytraveller
Frequent Poster
Posts: 842
Joined: Fri May 12, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: Hastings

Soft: MBP 15", X-Station, LogicX, Mainstage 3, Korg legacy, Diva, Alchemy,

Hard: Emulator II, E-Synth, Roland Promars, Obie TVS-1, Waldorf Q, AS Vostok, AS Telemark, AS Leipzig-S.. Eurocrack disease


Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby Kwackman » Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:32 pm

Chevytraveller wrote:MOTU Digital Performer is Mac only.. I think there might be a few others



Garageband.
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 758
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Belfast

Cubase, guitars.


Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby Kaw-Liga » Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:27 pm

Hi! I always keep the dock hidden. Using the full screen mode makes a VERY big difference on my computer. I like to work with smaller things, and usually do all my monitoring through my 13.3" macbook screen. With such a screen, the big top buttons in arrange mode which I rarely use (cause of key commands being faster) take up roughly one eighth of the screen space, and I think that's annoying. Full-screen is great for small screens (and folks who like a really tidy screen with as few distractions as possible).
Kaw-Liga
Regular
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:00 pm

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby chris... » Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:04 pm

Right - so you're saving the thickness of the menubar. Not sure I'd personally find that makes a very big difference, but fair enough.

In Logic, you can hopefully hide the part of the window with those big top buttons, which as you say are duplicated by key commands (and in some cases, menu options...)
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2685
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby mosso » Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:11 pm

You can hide those big buttons by clicking on the button at the top right hand corner of the arrange window. That saves you about 2 times the space of the menu bar.

You're welcome.
User avatar
mosso
Poster
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby Tui » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:53 am

So the only feature that could possibly entice me to switch to Lion - fullscreen mode - doesn't even work with Logic in the way one would expect it to. Great.
User avatar
Tui
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby Kaw-Liga » Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:55 am

mosso wrote:You can hide those big buttons by clicking on the button at the top right hand corner of the arrange window. That saves you about 2 times the space of the menu bar.

You're welcome.

Thanks! Exactly what I wanted:-) And it's probably been possible for a number of years all ready.... LOL
Kaw-Liga
Regular
Posts: 186
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2003 11:00 pm

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby desmond » Thu Sep 01, 2011 1:33 pm

Kaw-Liga wrote:Thanks! Exactly what I wanted:-) And it's probably been possible for a number of years all ready.... LOL

Since Logic 8.0.0
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6455
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Nov 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby MarcusH » Sat Sep 03, 2011 5:12 am

mosso wrote:You can hide those big buttons by clicking on the button at the top right hand corner of the arrange window.

Brilliant! Thanks! And I've been meaning to learn more Key Commands so this will give me the push I've needed.

Marcus
MarcusH
Regular
Posts: 268
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Tanzania
You live. You learn.

Re: Logic 9.1.5 full-screen and screen-sets

Postby chris... » Sat Sep 03, 2011 10:31 am

Also, most of those big top buttons are duplicates of menu options, as well as being key commands.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2685
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests