You are here

Connect PC VST to MAC VST

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Connect PC VST to MAC VST

Postby alexfree » Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:15 pm

Hi,

I have tried to find a solution, but without luck. My problem!

My setup mainly is Cubase 6 on Mac Pro!

Now I want to use the Poetic Acoustic Guitar VST (best service), but it is only on Windows OS!

Is it possible to interconnect a PC VST (windows) and a MAC VST and use the MAC as the host?

//Alex
alexfree
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Connect PC VST to MAC VST

Postby desmond » Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:23 pm

Yes, but it won't have good performance or be particularly reliable.

You'll need to run your PC code under an emulated PC in Fusion/Parallels/VirtualBox, and send MIDI via network MIDI (there are a variety of software solutions for this) and bring audio back over the network too.

Personally, I wouldn't bother, and I wouldn't be buying Windows software if my primary platform was the Mac either, but if you want to spend a while faffing around, give it a try.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6567
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: SOS Apr 87
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: Connect PC VST to MAC VST

Postby G-Doubleyou » Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:32 pm

You can use your PC like a midi module, and have your mac as the master, controlling the PC with midi messages.

Providing you have sequencers on both, and by routing the PC audio.

Or you could use VSL, on both machines, it's a host allows you to use your plugs, and communicate via ethernet.

Here are some videos http://www.vsl.co.at/en/211/1343/1348/1594/1245.vsl

User avatar
G-Doubleyou
Frequent Poster
Posts: 881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:00 am

G-Dub Studio G-fx 15inch quad-core i7 Macbook Pro Logic9.1.8, LPX 10.0.3


Re: Connect PC VST to MAC VST

Postby alexfree » Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:17 pm

Thanks guys!

Does VSL support 3rd party plugins?

I was first thinking of using Cubase VST link system, but then I probably need 2 licenses for Cubase!
alexfree
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Connect PC VST to MAC VST

Postby desmond » Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:20 pm

Oh, sorry I thought you meant you wanted to use it on your Mac, didn't realise you also had a PC - in which case, as stated above, just use the PC as a sound module using a regular audio/MIDI interface to connect it - you can pipe that stuff over the network, but it's not a particularly satisfactory solution imo.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6567
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: SOS Apr 87
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: Connect PC VST to MAC VST

Postby Richie Royale » Thu Oct 27, 2011 2:59 pm

You could install Reaper to run the other software on the PC, nice and cheap.
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Connect PC VST to MAC VST

Postby alexfree » Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:34 pm

Vienna Ensemble Pro is the way to go!!

Tested it over Ethernet and it is working perfect, both in 64-bit and/or 32-bit at the same time!

//Alex
alexfree
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 12:00 am


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest