You are here

Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby stinkfinger » Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:19 am

I want to start using a touchscreen with Logic, I don't really have space for another monitor and I have been thinking about getting an iPad anyway. Would an iPad connect just like any other second monitor or doesn't it work like that?

Thanks in advance.

stinkfinger
Regular
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby Kiwibu » Sun Mar 25, 2012 3:22 pm

The connection is wireless and you will need a software application. There are several that will allow you touch control Logic such as IP Touch and Touch OSC (several other good threads on these iOS apps). There are also apps that will mirror your display and allow you to control remotely. Complaints about latency and dropouts seem to be common when using for tracking, etc.
User avatar
Kiwibu
Poster
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby desmond » Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:00 pm

stinkfinger wrote:I want to start using a touchscreen with Logic, I don't really have space for another monitor and I have been thinking about getting an iPad anyway. Would an iPad connect just like any other second monitor or doesn't it work like that?

It doesn't work like that.

You have to use a software application to virtually send the display screen over the network, so the performance is laggy compared to a "real" monitor - if you've ever used VNC/Remote Desktop etc then you'll know what to expect.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6499
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: MT Dec 90
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby Bob Bickerton » Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:00 pm

The Air Display app lets you do this and I thought it gave touch screen functionality but may be wrong as I haven't used it much yet and I'm away from a computer at present.

Its likely to be leggy though.

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2896
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand

Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby G-Doubleyou » Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:35 pm

V-Control Pro. will display your desktop, and allow you to control Logic and it's plugs.

User avatar
G-Doubleyou
Frequent Poster
Posts: 879
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:00 am

G-Dub Studio G-fx 15inch quad-core i7 Macbook Pro Logic9.1.8, LPX 10.0.3


Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby Wease » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:15 pm

it's probably better to think of the iPad as an external controller that controls an aspect of Logic (like a virtual fader bank) rather than it being an extra monitor.....cause it can't do that. - edit - sorry, it looks like air display does do this - but i haven't tried this yet.......

so you won't 'see' logic's mixer on the iPad - you'd see a virtual control surface that controls logic's mixer

in that way, touchOSC or ac-7 core (or similar) would be a good idea....v control pro does this as well - it doesn't show your desktop - it sends to the mac and is a virtual fader/plugin control bank device

the iPad doesn't receive from the mac - it can only send to the mac.....

you have to create a wifi network for the above to work- although this is quite easy (and well explained on the web)

the advantages are that you can also control other plugin's - and some, like camel audio, have specific controller apps for software (and i reckon that this idea will catch on)

you can also buy virtual instruments for the iPad (Korg make some good ones!) that connect to the mac like an external synth

If you want to 'touch' logic's mixer directly - you might be better off with a touch screen - sometimes you can find ex shop control screens (the ones cashiers use instead of a mechanical till) for cheap.....this would be plugged into your mac as an additional monitor and can be touched to replace a mouse movement - remembering these are only really 1 finger touch screens - the iPad is multi-touch.

Other advantages for your iPad could be as a kinda demo/writing tool and as an emailer etc ..but thats another thread...
User avatar
Wease
Frequent Poster
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Walsall

Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby Pinestreet » Mon Mar 26, 2012 7:25 pm

Pinestreet
Regular
Posts: 64
Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 11:00 pm

Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby Wease » Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:18 pm

yup - you and bob are right - air display looks good -

you'll have to test it for latency tho

(infact i will probably use it for school - i shall report back!!)
User avatar
Wease
Frequent Poster
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Walsall

Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby rz » Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:14 am

The IP Touch for Logic works great, cheap and the connection to the Mac and Logic is simple (wifi) - no need to involve extra software.

rz
rz
Poster
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 12:00 am
Location: ACT Australia

rzzz


Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby Wease » Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:02 am

......a nice sticky with everyone's best (and worse??) logic controller apps might be a good thread....
User avatar
Wease
Frequent Poster
Posts: 783
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Walsall

Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby Exalted Wombat » Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:15 am

Wease wrote:......a nice sticky with everyone's best (and worse??) logic controller apps might be a good thread....

It's more-or-less got to be a Mac, hasn't it? :-)
Exalted Wombat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5644
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:00 am
Location: London UK

You don't have to write songs. The world doesn't want you to write songs. It would probably prefer it if you didn't. So write songs if you want to. Otherwise, dont. Go fishing instead.


Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby sthum » Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:37 am

Yeah... Go on ahead and treat yourself to an iPad.. You won't regret it..

And while your at it.. If desk space is limited treat yourself to one of these..

http://twelvesouth.com/products/hoverbar/

It's pretty cool and makes a lot of sense considering your predicament?

If it had've been available last year I would've saved a lot of money.. The Hi Res iPad alone is worth the spend considering that most quality external displays cost well over £300 and are usually too big for most modest studio desks.

New iPad 3 version coming soon as well as a new adapter for previous hoverbars.. apparently!!
sthum
Regular
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:00 pm

Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby Exalted Wombat » Tue Mar 27, 2012 12:41 pm

Do you want to work on a touch-screen mounted vertically? I find them comfortable when horizontal or slightly angled. Not at all ergonomic when mounted as a standard display.

I think this current obsession with touch-screens and "swiping" (it's both a Mac and a PC thing now) might be as much about corporate uniformity - making Windows on a tablet LOOK the same as Windows on a full-size computer - as about what is really best for each type of computer and size of screen.
Exalted Wombat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5644
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:00 am
Location: London UK

You don't have to write songs. The world doesn't want you to write songs. It would probably prefer it if you didn't. So write songs if you want to. Otherwise, dont. Go fishing instead.


Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby G-Doubleyou » Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:33 pm

Wease wrote:it's probably better to think of the iPad as an external controller that controls an aspect of Logic (like a virtual fader bank) rather than it being an extra monitor.....cause it can't do that. - edit - sorry, it looks like air display does do this - but i haven't tried this yet.......

so you won't 'see' logic's mixer on the iPad - you'd see a virtual control surface that controls logic's mixer

in that way, touchOSC or ac-7 core (or similar) would be a good idea....v control pro does this as well - it doesn't show your desktop - it sends to the mac and is a virtual fader/plugin control bank device

the iPad doesn't receive from the mac - it can only send to the mac.....

you have to create a wifi network for the above to work- although this is quite easy (and well explained on the web)

the advantages are that you can also control other plugin's - and some, like camel audio, have specific controller apps for software (and i reckon that this idea will catch on)

you can also buy virtual instruments for the iPad (Korg make some good ones!) that connect to the mac like an external synth

If you want to 'touch' logic's mixer directly - you might be better off with a touch screen - sometimes you can find ex shop control screens (the ones cashiers use instead of a mechanical till) for cheap.....this would be plugged into your mac as an additional monitor and can be touched to replace a mouse movement - remembering these are only really 1 finger touch screens - the iPad is multi-touch.

Other advantages for your iPad could be as a kinda demo/writing tool and as an emailer etc ..but thats another thread...

The current V-Control Pro has a new V-Window feature that does display any window open on the desktop.
http://www.idesignsound.com/v-control-pro-ipad/

You do have to run their Ney-Fi app in the background.

I also have Touch Osc, So far V-control is more responsive, less latency.


User avatar
G-Doubleyou
Frequent Poster
Posts: 879
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:00 am

G-Dub Studio G-fx 15inch quad-core i7 Macbook Pro Logic9.1.8, LPX 10.0.3


Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby ConcertinaChap » Tue Mar 27, 2012 2:00 pm

Exalted Wombat wrote:Do you want to work on a touch-screen mounted vertically? I find them comfortable when horizontal or slightly angled. Not at all ergonomic when mounted as a standard display.

Quite so. The effect is know as Gorilla Arm. From the Jargon File:-

The side-effect that destroyed touch-screens as a mainstream input technology despite a promising start in the early 1980s. It seems the designers of all those spiffy touch-menu systems failed to notice that humans aren't designed to hold their arms in front of their faces making small motions. After more than a very few selections, the arm begins to feel sore, cramped, and oversized — the operator looks like a gorilla while using the touch screen and feels like one afterwards. This is now considered a classic cautionary tale to human-factors designers; “Remember the gorilla arm!” is shorthand for “How is this going to fly in real use?”.


Tablets and other touch screens work when you can get to them confortably. Shoving it up beside the screen is just repeating an old mistake. Reinventing the tarpit?

CC
User avatar
ConcertinaChap
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3537
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Bradford on Avon

Making music: Eagle Alley ... Recording music: Mr Punch's Studio  


Re: Can you connect iPad to iMac like a second monitor?

Postby sthum » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:14 pm





Tablets and other touch screens work when you can get to them confortably. Shoving it up beside the screen is just repeating an old mistake. Reinventing the tarpit?

CC

My understanding is that the likes of the HoverBar is quite flexible in that you can attach it to pretty much anything... So you could have it anywhere around the screen or clamped to your desk so it's just set at arms length.
sthum
Regular
Posts: 205
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests