You are here

Prepare drive for another Mac - Silly question alert!

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Prepare drive for another Mac - Silly question alert!

Postby Lizardpoint » Tue May 08, 2012 8:28 am

Hi Team,
Please forgive me for asking a potentially dopey question, but it would save me a lot of time if I can do this:

I have a Quad core Mac Pro.
My pals have an 8 core Mac Pro.
I'll be visiting them soon in Spain and plan to install a SSD in their machine.
This will be a clean install of Lion plus PT 10HD and some insturments.
We both have the appropriate iloks with the assets already.
So its just a simple question.
If I install the drive in my Quad core and install/configure the software, will it work (or sort itself out) in their 8 core machine when I get to Spain?

Cheers

Lizardpoint
:blush: :blush:
User avatar
Lizardpoint
Regular
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Biggin Hill, Kent

 


Re: Prepare drive for another Mac - Silly question alert!

Postby desmond » Tue May 08, 2012 8:52 am

Yeah, should do.

I can boot off my MBP drive on an iMac and essentially turn the iMac into my MBP. Occasionally you get the odd bit of oddness but in general you should be fine, particularly if all your software is up to date and you're not running a bunch of random third-party system extensions and hacks etc...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6656
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: Prepare drive for another Mac - Silly question alert!

Postby Lizardpoint » Tue May 08, 2012 9:03 am

Hi Desmond,
Thanks for that.
Did you get your new MBP yet?
Keep the coffee away from this one huh?
Cheers
Dave
User avatar
Lizardpoint
Regular
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Biggin Hill, Kent

 


Re: Prepare drive for another Mac - Silly question alert!

Postby desmond » Tue May 08, 2012 9:06 am

Lizardpoint wrote:Did you get your new MBP yet?


Yep...

Lizardpoint wrote:Keep the coffee away from this one huh?


Umm... yeah... :headbang: :shock: :crazy:
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6656
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: Prepare drive for another Mac - Silly question alert!

Postby Richie Royale » Tue May 08, 2012 10:30 am

Not quite related, but I popped a drive into my old G3, not knowing what was on it (the G3 drive has got the click of death) turned on the computer, expecting it to ask for a CD for the OS and to my surprise it booted up a clone of OS 10.4 from another Mac. It worked surprisingly well. Some programmes didn't work as they required at least a G4 processor, but the OS seemed quite quick for an old 400MHz processor.
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4466
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Prepare drive for another Mac - Silly question alert!

Postby Scope » Wed May 09, 2012 8:46 pm

I did the very same thing using 2 G5s some years ago.
The only glich would be some software is registered against the CPU serial number.
( for example - Sampletank is one, Photoshop is another ).


Other than that you should be ok, as all the various kext files ( unix "device drivers", for you non- 'nix people ) are loaded via the OS install.
Scope
Frequent Poster
Posts: 551
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kwackman and 6 guests