You are here

Recording a self-vocal - can you punch in and out on the fly?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Recording a self-vocal - can you punch in and out on the fly?

Postby Jay Menon » Wed May 30, 2012 10:08 am

I'm new to both Mac and Logic - so my apologies if this is dead basic...

When I've recorded my own vocals (on an old Roland VS2480) I've always used a little footswitch to punch in and out, if I need to re-do a vocal line. Would someone please advise me as to how would I do this with an iMac running Logic Studio?

Grateful for all advice...
Jay Menon
Frequent Poster

Re: Recording a self-vocal - can you punch in and out on the fly?

Postby Exalted Wombat » Wed May 30, 2012 11:07 am

Manual (or pedal :-) "Punch In" is an obsolete concept. Any modern DAW lets you set the point where recording will start, and lets you pre-roll from as far back as you like. There's no need to set the point accurately, the new recording doesn't destroy the old one underneath it! In fact, you SHOULDN'T try to set it too precisely - much better to trim afterwards than to miss the attack!

If you want to be even more clever, set up a new track to record to - they're free! You can easily mute sections of the existing tracks so that you can monitor exactly what you want to hear.

You can even set up a loop, allowing multiple attempts at the drop in. Keep the last one, or choose to stack them all up for subsequent selection an trimming. And always remember, you CAN trim! Set the In point a bit early, the Out point a bit late - you can now concentrate on your performance rather than on punch-in technique.
Exalted Wombat
Jedi Poster

You don't have to write songs. The world doesn't want you to write songs. It would probably prefer it if you didn't. So write songs if you want to. Otherwise, dont. Go fishing instead.

Postby desmond » Wed May 30, 2012 11:45 am

Agree with all the above.