You are here

Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

Postby audioartist » Wed Sep 05, 2012 8:39 pm

Just got myself one of the aforementioned second-hand on ebay circa nov 07' in pristine condition, very lucky.

I looked up the minimum requirements for running Logic 9 and it needs OSX 10.6.8

So if I update to Snow Leopard theoretically I can run it? Forgive my cluelessness but I've been out of the music production game for a few years now and will be glad to be back soon. If you are running Logic 9 on this setup, let me know how you're getting on!

Thanks in advance, Lewis.
audioartist
Regular
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

Postby chris... » Wed Sep 05, 2012 9:16 pm

audioartist wrote:I looked up the minimum requirements for running Logic 9 and it needs OSX 10.6.8

So if I update to Snow Leopard theoretically I can run it?
Yes.
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2685
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

Postby AndyN » Wed Sep 05, 2012 9:38 pm

I am running Logic on a white Macbook running 10.5.8. I don't do anything that taxing as I use my desktop for that but it runs fine. The main reason I guess you would need 10.6 is just to download it from the App store in the first place. 10.5 doesn't have access to the App store.

Mike
AndyN
Regular
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Southampton, UK

 


Re: Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

Postby audioartist » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:28 am

Thanks for your responses, no welcome back I guess I'm not remembered after all these years, hopefully I will be right back into things again and able to help others again soon. It will be interesting to see the learning curve again after a few years out.
audioartist
Regular
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

Postby matt keen » Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:15 am

Where will you get Snow Leopard from?
Its not on the app store as Mountain Lion is out

You will need discs I think
matt keen
Frequent Poster
Posts: 870
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2006 12:00 am

Re: Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

Postby Samurai Jack » Fri Sep 07, 2012 9:33 am

correct - you will need physical install disk for snow leopard. it's no longer available via apple but i think you can still get it from amazon or second hand.
once 10.6 is installed, you will need to run the software update to get the app store from which you can purchase/download logic 9.

s.e.
User avatar
Samurai Jack
Poster
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

Postby discospring » Wed Nov 21, 2012 1:43 am

Mike Stand wrote:I am running Logic on a white Macbook running 10.5.8. I don't do anything that taxing...

Same here but I'm taxing it like...Harold Wilson? Last project was 30 tracks, 10 aux, Logic/Ableton rewire, about 8 Waves plugs and more of Logics. The rewire crashes Logic regularly, sometimes constantly, I needed to bounce all but two of the midi instruments to audio, and bounce all the tracks basic eq and compression, but it definitely works.
discospring
Poster
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 11:00 pm

Re: Is anyone running Logic 9 on a macbook white 13"?

Postby porthoss78 » Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:50 pm

Hi,

Snow Leopard is once again available directly from Apple:

http://store.apple.com/uk/product/MC573Z/A/mac-os-x-106-snow...


Cheers
J
porthoss78
Regular
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Bristol

 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest