You are here

SL to ML

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

SL to ML

Postby fatbenelton » Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:22 pm

Folks
I know this looks like a lazy question but all the stuff I found on the net seemed to be about upgrading SL to ML and porting all your stuff over...my query is slightly different....

I am trading my 2009 macbook pro running SL 10.6.8 and will prob buy a new mac mini (ML)....

If I back up the macbook (SL) via time machine I'm worried I won't be able to get all my stuff on to the macmini as it will be on ML........I may be selling the macbook prior to getting the mini so all my stuff will be on a timemachine backup on a USB3 drive....am I asking for trouble as I'll be trying to install a SL backup onto a ML machine. Any better suggestions?
User avatar
fatbenelton
Regular
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK

Jonny


Re: SL to ML

Postby Bossman » Wed Nov 21, 2012 3:35 pm

It should work ok, but I've not tried it myself so can't be sure.

To be safe, I would make a disc image of your current drive using disc utility.
User avatar
Bossman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: SL to ML

Postby G-Doubleyou » Sat Nov 24, 2012 11:27 pm

Do your research on your apps and plugs to see if updates are required for ML.

Chances are that SL doesn't have the drivers to support the new hardware, and you may, or may not be able to boot from the time capsule backup.

When I got my MBP I used migration assistant to move key apps and files from my old machine, but it requires both machines.

It worked fine but I had to reauthorize all apps.


What I usually do when upgrading the OS, is to clone my system drive then upgrade the OS for testing before I move to the new OS.

8-)
User avatar
G-Doubleyou
Frequent Poster
Posts: 881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:00 am

G-Dub Studio G-fx 15inch quad-core i7 Macbook Pro Logic9.1.8, LPX 10.0.3


Re: SL to ML

Postby fatbenelton » Sun Nov 25, 2012 1:54 pm

OK cheers - my worry is not having both machines at the same time..........It souds like I may have an issue if I count on being able to use my SL back up with a new Mountain Lion mac......
User avatar
fatbenelton
Regular
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK

Jonny


Re: SL to ML

Postby Bossman » Sun Nov 25, 2012 3:34 pm

Bossman wrote:To be safe, I would make a disc image of your current drive using disc utility.

as I said above, make a disc image of your system.

If you have a disc image of your current system then you don't need to keep your old computer because you cloned it.

If you restore the disc image onto an external USB or FW drive, then you can boot up from that disc and have your old system.

it would be just like keeping your old computer, except you only keep the hard disc.
User avatar
Bossman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 707
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: SL to ML

Postby fatbenelton » Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:26 am

Cheers for the advice. Got my new mini (i7 2.3) and still have the laptop so should be ok.
User avatar
fatbenelton
Regular
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK

Jonny



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests