You are here

Firefox crawling?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Firefox crawling?

Postby RoastBiff in The UK. » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:35 am

Hi Guys, My Safari connection works fine, nice and easy and speedy. but Firefox is slow on booting up, then I need to do 2 mouse clicks for anything to happen, which them takes twice as long as Safari?
I use Firefox for less important communication and I have a different Email number on it, so I would like to keep it, but it's a pain in the butt! Any ideas about my problems with it would be appreciated! :tongue:
User avatar
RoastBiff in The UK.
Regular
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Kent. UK.

Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby xFasterMikeyH » Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:52 am

Which version of Firefox?
Which version of OSX?
Do you have any add-ons installed on Firefox?

What do you mean by "I have a different Email number on it"? Are you using the same email provider in both Firefox & Safari (e.g. GMail, Yahoo!)

FMH
xFasterMikeyH
Regular
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby RoastBiff in The UK. » Thu Feb 21, 2013 2:48 pm

Hi Mike,
My Firefox version is 18.0,
my system is on Snow Leopard OS X 10.6.8, and Add ons are.

AdobeExManDetect.1.0.0.0
Browser Plus( Yahoo) v2.9.8
BT Broadband Support Tools.1.0
DivX Plus Web Player.2.2
DivX VOD Helper Plug in 1.1
Flip4Mac Windows Media Plug in.2.4.4.2
Google Earth Plug in.6.1
iPhotoPhotocast 78.0
Java Applet Plug in 13.9.0
Microsoft Office Plug in. 12.3.5
QuickTime Plug in. 7.6.6
RealPlayer Plug in 0.0.1d1
Shockwave Flash11.6.602.167
Skyline TerraExplorer. 1.0.48.0
Speed Download Plugin.2.1.5

Regarding providers, Safari opens up with http//uk mg.BT.mail.yahoo.com
and Firefox opens up with http//uk mg40.BT.mail.yahoo.com
Is there some kind of confict going on here, I didn't even realise that there were so many plug ins on my Firefox system?:p
User avatar
RoastBiff in The UK.
Regular
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Kent. UK.

Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby Dave B » Thu Feb 21, 2013 3:32 pm

It has always done that for me. IIRC, it is the loading of the bookmarks and some other initial bits 'n pieces. Drives me crackers and I've half a mind to switch everything to Chrome.

If you dig around on the net, there are suggestions about fixing it and I _think_ that there is a setting somewhere about not loading bookmarks until needed... but I gave up.

I tend to start it up at the very beginning and check my mail at the same time so that I have something to do whilst I wait :)
User avatar
Dave B
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3147
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Maidenhead

Veni, Vidi, Aesculi

(I came, I saw, I conkered)


Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby xFasterMikeyH » Thu Feb 21, 2013 5:11 pm

Something else, do you have any start-up tabs in Firefox? If so, can you get rid of them and see if that improves the situation?
xFasterMikeyH
Regular
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby xFasterMikeyH » Thu Feb 21, 2013 7:21 pm

RoastBiff in France wrote:
AdobeExManDetect.1.0.0.0
Browser Plus( Yahoo) v2.9.8
BT Broadband Support Tools.1.0
DivX Plus Web Player.2.2
DivX VOD Helper Plug in 1.1
Flip4Mac Windows Media Plug in.2.4.4.2
Google Earth Plug in.6.1
iPhotoPhotocast 78.0
Java Applet Plug in 13.9.0
Microsoft Office Plug in. 12.3.5
QuickTime Plug in. 7.6.6
RealPlayer Plug in 0.0.1d1
Shockwave Flash11.6.602.167
Skyline TerraExplorer. 1.0.48.0
Speed Download Plugin.2.1.5
Well, let's start with disabling Java, it probably won't speed things up, but it's a yawning chasm of insecurity at the moment http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/How%20to%20turn%20off%20Java%20applets (I'd do the same for Safari and any other browsers you use).

After that, well, you can experiment and see if disabling other plugins has an effect. Given that the web is what it is, you'll probably need Shockwave, the rest you'll have to decide whether you need or not. I have iPhotoPhotocast, QuickTime, Shockwave and a couple of others enabled but I'll be using my machine in different ways from you.

FMH
xFasterMikeyH
Regular
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby zenguitar » Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:18 am

Not a Mac user here, but there have been a couple of Firefox updates this week and I did notice a big slow down in response while they were running and updating in the background. Enough of a slowdown for me to question my PC, fear a virus/trojan, to the point of running extra anti-virus tools 'just in case'. But after rebooting and restarting Firefox all is well now.

OK, I don't run as many Add-ons as you, but my PC is getting very ancient now so it is very sensitive to updates in the background. One of my few gripes about Firefox is that it updates invisibly, fine if you have a fast machine but can be a cause of temporary concern on a slower machine.

Andy :beamup:
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 7565
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Devon

OC/DC - All the right notes in exactly the right places.


Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby xFasterMikeyH » Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:11 am

zenguitar wrote: One of my few gripes about Firefox is that it updates invisibly
Only if you've set it up that way (which is probably the default, I don't know). On a PC you can change this by going to Tools > Options selecting 'Advanced' and then the 'Update' tab. On OSX it's Firefox > Preferences then 'Advanced' then 'Update'.

FMH
xFasterMikeyH
Regular
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby Dave B » Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:31 am

Then the next time it updates, you have to remember to do it again .... sigh ....
User avatar
Dave B
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3147
Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Maidenhead

Veni, Vidi, Aesculi

(I came, I saw, I conkered)


Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby xFasterMikeyH » Fri Feb 22, 2013 9:17 am

Dave B wrote:Then the next time it updates, you have to remember to do it again .... sigh ....
I have my OSX Firefox set to 'Check for updates, but let me choose whether to install them' and I don't think I have to change that setting when I install an update. Perhaps if you're set to 'Never check for updates' it does this?
xFasterMikeyH
Regular
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby geefunk » Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:58 am

Firefox used to be really slow for me, I checked it out in Activity Monitor, and it also seemed to be a real memory hog. I also noticed it was running in 64bit mode.

So if you highlight the app in Finder, and go to 'file > get info' (or right click), you can tick a box to make Firefox run in 32 bit mode.

Since doing that it is a lot quicker for me.
User avatar
geefunk
Regular
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: Firefox crawling?

Postby RoastBiff in The UK. » Sat Feb 23, 2013 11:06 am

Thank You, I switched Firefox to 32 bit, and it's now as fast as Safari. Great! :)
User avatar
RoastBiff in The UK.
Regular
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Kent. UK.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bubblessf and 3 guests