You are here

Likely a silly question about take folders and the audio contained therein.

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Likely a silly question about take folders and the audio contained therein.

Postby aveatrex » Sat May 18, 2013 9:07 pm

Recently having made the switch from PC to Mac, and from Sonar to Logic, there are many things to like. However, my biggest gripe is the move from "layers" to Take Folders, which appear to have a far less intuitive workflow. One specific example that comes to mind is the apparent inability to copy and paste within takes (e.g. say I have two bars of music that are flubbed in one spot, but could easily be copy/pasted into place from an earlier occurrence in the take and then comp'd in with quick swipe). This was rather easy in Sonar but I have found it to be quite impossible thus far in Logic. Do I have to first flatten the track, then copy and paste into a separate track, and then create a take folder out of the separate tracks? There must be a simpler way.

If anyone could shed a bit of light on the subject for me, I would be forever grateful.

Thank you.

John
User avatar
aveatrex
Poster
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: Likely a silly question about take folders and the audio contained therein.

Postby Tui » Sun May 19, 2013 2:57 am

Personally, I hate take folders with a passion. However, in Logic's Projects Settings/Recording pane, you can disable take folders completely, and choose between several options. For me, the most useful one is "Create tracks and mute in Cycle record". With this setting, you can edit and combine your performances in any way you wish.
User avatar
Tui
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand

Re: Likely a silly question about take folders and the audio contained therein.

Postby Jonnypopisical » Mon May 20, 2013 9:36 am

Is this true for Logic Pro 9 - can't see that option on my version - I'd love to be able to turn off the folder system when recording - it's a PITA!

JP
Jonnypopisical
Frequent Poster
Posts: 819
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Oakham

Mac Pro, Logic Pro, lots of software and 17 hard drives!


Re: Likely a silly question about take folders and the audio contained therein.

Postby daedalus » Mon May 20, 2013 1:56 pm

Tui wrote:Personally, I hate take folders with a passion. However, in Logic's Projects Settings/Recording pane, you can disable take folders completely, and choose between several options. For me, the most useful one is "Create tracks and mute in Cycle record". With this setting, you can edit and combine your performances in any way you wish.

Isn't this option only for MIDI and not for audio? Cant' verify at the moment...
daedalus
Regular
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:00 am
Location: LA

Just a piano and some sketch paper please...


Re: Likely a silly question about take folders and the audio contained therein.

Postby Tui » Mon May 20, 2013 5:21 pm

clisma wrote:
Isn't this option only for MIDI and not for audio? Cant' verify at the moment...


I think you're right.
User avatar
Tui
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1067
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Chiang Mai, Thailand


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest