You are here

Logic Varispeed Problem

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Logic Varispeed Problem

Postby ken long » Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:29 pm

So, I was given a song to mix in logic.

At the end of the mix, the client decided that pitching up the whole mix by 2% using varispeed (speed and pitch) is the result he wanted. Fine. I delivered the mix like that.

He later decided to overdub onto the final mix. He sent me the stems and asked me to mix them in. But of course, the project is still +2% so his overdubs are now +2% fast (though very much in key).

I'm just wondering which of these following solutions would be best practice to avoid any issues.

So, in order of PITA (least PITA to most)

1. Lay his overdubs down onto the stereo mix in a new project. easy but not so much control over the other elements in the 2-track mix obviously.

2. Time correct his overdubs by -2%. I think this would be best but not sure what this percentile refers to. What does 2% equate to in bpm?

3. Render all tracks from the mix to a new project and then lay his overdubs on top. Easy but time consuming and feels redundant.

all solutions will work but which solution will be most efficient? I think #2 would be the best choice if I knew by how much bpm the varispeed percentile referred too.

thanks
User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3161
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: The Orient, East London

I'm All Ears.


Re: Logic Varispeed Problem

Postby ken long » Sun Sep 08, 2013 6:38 pm

OK- think i'll just create a new project at -2% and render them that way.
User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3161
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: The Orient, East London

I'm All Ears.


Re: Logic Varispeed Problem

Postby Eddy Currents » Sun Sep 08, 2013 7:09 pm

There's a pretty good free app called Backline Calc and one of its algos is a change tempo re percentages.
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/backlin ... 47274?mt=8
Eddy Currents
Regular
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:00 am

 


Re: Logic Varispeed Problem

Postby alexis » Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:38 pm

Doesn't it work to just see how long the new project is and compare it to the time of the original?
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3088
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: Logic Varispeed Problem

Postby ken long » Sun Sep 08, 2013 9:07 pm

thanks eddy. sorted now.
User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3161
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: The Orient, East London

I'm All Ears.


Re: Logic Varispeed Problem

Postby alexis » Sun Sep 08, 2013 10:10 pm

ken long wrote:thanks eddy. sorted now.

Please do tell - what was the BPM of the new project?

Was it = (BPM of the old project)/(0.98),

Or more complicated than that?

Thanks -
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3088
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: Logic Varispeed Problem

Postby ken long » Mon Sep 09, 2013 9:48 am

alexis wrote:
ken long wrote:thanks eddy. sorted now.

Please do tell - what was the BPM of the new project?

Was it = (BPM of the old project)/(0.98),

Or more complicated than that?

Thanks -

Hi, I rendered at -2% in a new project and re-imported and that worked. Haven't worked it out.
User avatar
ken long
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3161
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 12:00 am
Location: The Orient, East London

I'm All Ears.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest