You are here

Duet 2 & Logic X - Initial Setup

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

Duet 2 & Logic X - Initial Setup

Postby audiodudero » Sun Sep 08, 2013 11:52 pm

Duet 2 & Logic X Setup!



Hey guys need some advice here.

My guitar sound is coming out gross - sounds terrible.


If I am going acoustic electric guitar -> duet 2 -> mac -> logic x


What are the proper input levels and settings so I can have the cleanest noise / signal coming through before effects, eq, noise gates, and compressors. Right now I get hiss and the guitar is either too quite or too loud. I want to be able to play at low volumes, but high clean harmonics, finger picking and palm mute strums and then loud strumming and guitar slapping percussion. ALL I want the signal to be as quite as possible before having to alter the track.


DUET 2 SETTINGS QUESTIONS: - BEST TUNE UP SETTINGS FOR EACH:

Input Setting: inst or -10 or +4

What should I set the DB knob to?

Should the A on the left be highlighted?

Line 1 Output +4bu or -10dbv
Line 2 Output +4bu or -10dbv

Line 1 Volume
Line 2 Volume
___________________

MIXER:

SOFTWARE RETURN VALUE:
MIXER MASTER VALUE:


_______________

SAMPLE RATE: 44.1

PEAK HOLD: 2 SECONDS

OVERHOLD

____

eLECTRIC aCOUSTIC

Volume on the pickups 1-10


____________________


Mixer SEttings:

Software Return: 0
Mixer Master: 0


_______________


LOGIC X PRO


AUDIO PREF

I/0 BUFFER - 64
RECORDING DELAY 0
24 BIT RECORDING CHECK
SOFTWARE MONITOR - CHECK
INPUT MONITOR ONLY FOCUSED TRACK AND RECORD ENABLED - CHECK
INPUT MOINTOR FOR RECORD ENABLE CHANNEL STRIP - NOT CHECKED
PROCESSING THREAD: AUTO
PROCESS BUFFER FLANGE: MEDIUM
REWIRE BEHAVIOR: OFF
MAXIMUM SCRUB SPEED: NORMAL
SCRUB RESPONSE: NORMAL

Please help - I know long question - but I will take your valuable information to the grave!!

ALSO: If you have a good looking track record / CV and you want to take the time to fill this information out for me PM me and we can discuss rates for your time.



Please HELP!
audiodudero
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:00 pm

Re: Duet 2 & Logic X - Initial Setup

Postby rACed2 » Mon Sep 09, 2013 1:59 am

I assume that your electric acoustic guitar puts out an instrument signal in mono. in that case whichever input you are using for it should be set to inst in the Duet.
rACed2
Regular
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 11:00 pm

Re: Duet 2 & Logic X - Initial Setup

Postby audiodudero » Mon Sep 09, 2013 2:34 am

Using LR Baggs m80 has active and passive mode setting with 1-10 volume switch.

Still set to inst?

Thanks for the response too!
audiodudero
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:00 pm

Re: Duet 2 & Logic X - Initial Setup

Postby Wease » Mon Sep 09, 2013 4:19 pm

Try upping your logic buffer up a level or two....

I think you should get away with 128 for monitoring
Btw, you might get better advice in the mac forum
I wonder if the mods could move this thread there?

User avatar
Wease
Frequent Poster
Posts: 795
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Sunny Walsall

Re: Duet 2 & Logic X - Initial Setup

Postby zenguitar » Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:23 pm

Yep, that makes sense Wease, consider it done.

Andy :beamup:
User avatar
zenguitar
Moderator
Posts: 7567
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Devon

OC/DC - All the right notes in exactly the right places.


Re: Duet 2 & Logic X - Initial Setup

Postby denitronik » Fri Sep 13, 2013 12:52 pm

Every setup is different so the best method has to come from trial and error. But there are a few basic principles.

If you are using the active mode on the guitar; set the Duet input to -10 and use the guitar volume to set the proper recording level.
If you are using the passive method; set the Duet input to instrument, set the guitar volume to 10 (loudest) and use the Duet gain to set the proper recording level.

There are two methods of monitoring your recording: one is using Logic's Software Monitoring mode and the other is monitoring directly through the Duet (using the Maestro application and setting the output to Mixer). I suggest you use only one at a time. If you use both at the same time you will get a loud monitoring level and you will hear some phasing because of the latency difference between Logic and the Duet.
User avatar
denitronik
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 11:00 pm
Location: Dorval, Quebec, Canada

Logic Pro X 10.2.3, MacBook Pro 2012, OSX 10.11.5, Apogee Duet (Firewire), MOTU 828MKII. Fender Mustang Floor.


Re: Duet 2 & Logic X - Initial Setup

Postby Digitally Challenged » Fri Sep 13, 2013 8:46 pm

I guess you are going for 'Andy McKee' style very expressive playing?

I Was was having a similar problem using cubase and a stienberg mr816. I was recording a nylon strung guitar and mine sounded flat and lifeless. By adding a piece of oak flooring under my guitar chair and changing my mics and positions made a big difference.

Have you tried micing up your guitar and moving the mics around to get a sweet spot?

I'm looking at getting the duet 2 for mobile stuff and have heard the converters and pres are fantastic.
Digitally Challenged
Poster
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest