You are here

TC powercore on 10.8 ?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby space rabbit » Mon Oct 14, 2013 7:14 am

Anyone tried this ?

I know the powercore is officially only supported up to 10.6 , but after hanging on to 10.6 for years now , it's time to move on (for various reasons)

Would hate to leave some of my beloved plugins behind , but that's life I guess .

Sharing your experiences will be much appreciated

cheers ,
User avatar
space rabbit
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:00 am
mac pro 8 core 2,33GHz , macbook pro 17" 2,4GHz , logic pro 9 , 828mkII , NI complete 5 , all spectrasonics , mackie control universal , genelec .........

Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby desmond » Mon Oct 14, 2013 11:25 am

Does it require hardware drivers? If so, they would need to be 64-bit, otherwise Mountain Lion won't see the hardware.

If the drivers aren't 64-bit compatible, then it's unlikely it would work.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6557
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: E&MM Aug 86
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby space rabbit » Mon Oct 14, 2013 12:24 pm

yes it needs drivers , and an OSX 64 bit compatible version exists , but they stopped supporting the format in the OS10.6 period , so there is officially no more support for 10.8 .

That said , the latest update to the PoCo driver was posted recently , june 2013 , so they did something , but no mention of 10.8 compatibility on the site .

I'm just looking for feedback from users who tried it …. anyone ?
I have a PCI mk2 btw

cheers
User avatar
space rabbit
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:00 am
mac pro 8 core 2,33GHz , macbook pro 17" 2,4GHz , logic pro 9 , 828mkII , NI complete 5 , all spectrasonics , mackie control universal , genelec .........

Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby desmond » Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:16 pm

Oh ok - it's likely it will work, but yeah you'll need to get some PC users to chime in.

You could try posting on gearslutz or something too...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6557
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: E&MM Aug 86
Needed: SOS April 1993. Can you donate your copy to complete the early SOS archive?


Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby space rabbit » Wed Oct 16, 2013 7:10 pm

Almost can't believe nobody's actually using TC powercore anymore over here … I guess I'll just give it a go and see what happens then .
User avatar
space rabbit
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:00 am
mac pro 8 core 2,33GHz , macbook pro 17" 2,4GHz , logic pro 9 , 828mkII , NI complete 5 , all spectrasonics , mackie control universal , genelec .........

Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby Big_al » Thu Oct 17, 2013 1:10 pm

I'm running my Poco Firewire fine in 10.8.5 if that helps.
User avatar
Big_al
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby LimitedHeadroom » Wed Oct 23, 2013 1:47 pm

I'm running my PoCo FW under 10.8.5 in Logic 9 and it all seems to work. I have 32Lives, which (in case you aren't aware) acts like a bridge between 32bit plugins and 64bit hosts. It says on their website that it supports TC powercore plugins. But none of the Powercore plugins seems to work under Logic X once wrapped. But in 32bit hosts it's fine.

The Powercore is VERY sensetive to the order that other FW periferals are switched on, not something that was a problem before. If it is turned on after my soundcard it will cause the whole system to hang, requiring a forced restart with the power button. Other than that it seems fine when up and running, as stable as it ever was so long as switch on is done in the right order.

Whilst on the PoCo topic, anyone know of a really good rich lush FX reverb? The Classic Verb in the PoCo is the main one I've not been able to replace. Have tried various things, but not found anything that works as well for those really rich, lush and dense sounding FX reverbs.

Thanks
LimitedHeadroom
Poster
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 11:00 pm

Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby space rabbit » Mon Nov 17, 2014 9:19 am

thanks for the 32lives tip : will try it out asap ... I'm now on 10.10 Yosemite , so we'll see how that goes ...
User avatar
space rabbit
Poster
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2002 12:00 am
mac pro 8 core 2,33GHz , macbook pro 17" 2,4GHz , logic pro 9 , 828mkII , NI complete 5 , all spectrasonics , mackie control universal , genelec .........

Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby InactiveX » Tue Nov 18, 2014 6:29 am

Check the PoCo forum. There's been talk of this lately and I believe it's working - don't know for sure as I run Win8.1 with two PoCos (PCI).

As much as I and many others were annoyed by the cessation of PowerCore, TC seem to have done quite well by us in keeping the old hardware working with new OSs.
User avatar
InactiveX
Regular
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: England

Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby niallharp » Tue Nov 18, 2014 9:35 am

Saw something about this recently.. Changing kexts helps somehow... Dang! Can't find it right now...
niallharp
Regular
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:00 am

Re: TC powercore on 10.8 ?

Postby Big_al » Tue Nov 18, 2014 11:07 am

It does work fine on Yosemite 10.10 and my system has been running flawlessly, here is the link to my original post with info on how to get it running.

Poco on Yosemite
User avatar
Big_al
Regular
Posts: 234
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests