You are here

My studio software is falling apart! What now?

For current or would-be users of Apple Mac computers, with answers to many FAQs.

My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:44 am

My DAW system has been stable for about two years, basically because I've updated nothing in that time.
My system was OS 10.7.1, Logic 9.1.6, the original Apogee Duet 2 drivers and the old (pre licence manager revision) iLok2.

I have just tried to install a Mackie MCU Pro onto my Logic based DAW. It came up with a message "Security unlock failed shutting down." Doing a bit of research I decided to update the OS, various drivers and firmware. Now my Duet 2 is not recognised by Logic (and the Mackie problem persists)!

Now I have this incompatibility issue what is my best course of action? Do I try to revert back to my mishmash of old (but stable versions) and try to find updates for these 2-3 year old versions of applications that will also get my new Mackie working, or as I suspect, install the latest OS, Logic X and iLok Licence Manager together with all the latest software revisions, drivers and firmware.
My thinking is if I update to Mavericks, Logic X and iLok LM then at least I'd be looking for revisions and updates to current products which I assume are better supported.

It feels that the nightmare I've tried to avoid for over two years is about to happen. Any advice would be appreciated.
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am

Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby desmond » Mon Apr 21, 2014 12:14 pm

I'd Rather Play wrote:I have just tried to install a Mackie MCU Pro onto my Logic based DAW. It came up with a message "Security unlock failed shutting down."

I've never seen the security unlock message on a Mackie Control. How is it connected, via USB?

Try uninstalling all your third-party audio and MIDI drivers, then shutting everything down. Then let the computer boot, run Logic, and then turn on the MCU. What happens?
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: SOS Apr 87
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:13 pm

Thanks for the reply Desmond.

I've uninstalled the Duet2 , deleted the Oxygen 88 from preferences/control surfaces/setup;

But immediately after the calibrating faders message I still get the message on the mcu display

Quote

SECURITY UNLOCK FAILED SHUTTING
Falcher Sicherheits Code DOWN

(Is the german translation usual?)

Any suggestions?
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am

Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby desmond » Mon Apr 21, 2014 3:33 pm

Does the MCU do this if not connected to the computer?
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: SOS Apr 87
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:13 pm

Good suggestion. I never thought of that.

No doesn't crash when not connected, it goes through the Calibrating faders screen, then remains on the MCU Pro by Loud Tech v4.0.3

I then tried turning it on and then connecting the usb lead. It doesn't fail at this point. Moving faders gives a midi message in the transport bar.

However selecting preferences/Control Surfaces/Set Up/New-Scan all models

(the scanning process begins)

Makes the Mackie fail and display the failed screen.

Incidentally in the Logic (9.1.8) Control surfaces install screen, Mackie Control (Pro) is not an option only the older original Mackie Control
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am

Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby desmond » Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:32 pm

I'd Rather Play wrote:However selecting preferences/Control Surfaces/Set Up/New-Scan all models
Makes the Mackie fail and display the failed screen.


Hmm. Do you have any other software that supports the MCU? Eg Ableton Live (even the demo).
Interested if it works in software other than Logic?

I'd Rather Play wrote:Incidentally in the Logic (9.1.8) Control surfaces install screen, Mackie Control (Pro) is not an option only the older original Mackie Control


The only difference (in terms of the data) is that the MCU Pro has a different ID byte in the message exchange. It shouldn't really matter, as I expect it will still respond to a regular MCU handshake.

However, it's possible the MCU is not responding correctly to Logic's challenge (the MCU and Logic exchange a handshake that requires a challenge and response) and perhaps failing this causes the security unlock failed error (on my regular MCU, failing the challenge is just silently ignored, I've done a lot of hacking on the MCU protocol and have never generated a security unlock code error).

I wonder if this is being generated by Logic rather than the MCU itself... hmm, let me have a look...

In the meantime - it might be worth asking Mackie Support about this security unlock thing...
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: SOS Apr 87
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:43 pm

Thanks for the replies Desmond. I'll download the Ableton Demo and give it a go.
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am

Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Mon Apr 21, 2014 4:57 pm

Yup, the Mackie works with the Ableton Live Demo. All the features work perfectly.
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am

Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby desmond » Mon Apr 21, 2014 6:50 pm

Ok, so it definitely looks like it's Logic that's triggering the error, and presumably by getting the challenge/response wrong.

Hmm... The MCUPro worked for you in Logic 9.1.6 (on 10.7), and it's not working on 9.1.8 (on 10.9), is that correct?

Have you tried 9.1.6 on 10.9? Have you tried trashing your Logic prefs (both the regular prefs, and the control surface prefs, and doing a "Rebuild defaults" on the control surfaces setup page in Logic?
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: SOS Apr 87
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:07 pm

No, the Mackie has not worked on any OS or Logic revision. (The OS update stopped the Duet 2 being recognised).
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am

Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Mon Apr 21, 2014 7:16 pm

I noticed that Ableton Live was 32 bit. I'm using Logic in 64 bit. Could that be an issue?
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am

Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby desmond » Mon Apr 21, 2014 8:50 pm

I'd Rather Play wrote:No, the Mackie has not worked on any OS or Logic revision.


Hmm. Well the MCU Pro was definitely released before LPX so I would expect it to work with LP9.
Can you check that the MCU is definitely in "Logic Control" mode... (Hold down chan 1 and 2 Select buttons on power up to check).

What firmware are you running? Latest is 4.0.3

I'd Rather Play wrote:I noticed that Ableton Live was 32 bit. I'm using Logic in 64 bit. Could that be an issue?


I don't think so.
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: SOS Apr 87
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby G-Doubleyou » Tue Apr 22, 2014 3:04 am

Check the Apogee site they recently updated drivers and firmware.

Delete the control surface preference in Logic.

User avatar
G-Doubleyou
Frequent Poster
Posts: 881
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2006 12:00 am

G-Dub Studio G-fx 15inch quad-core i7 Macbook Pro Logic9.1.8, LPX 10.0.3


Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:25 pm

desmond

You are the MAN !!

That was it, I wasn't in Logic control mode.

Thank you very very much.
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am

Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby desmond » Tue Apr 22, 2014 7:28 pm

Great! Will remember that in case it comes up again, thanks for letting me know.

What's next - the Duet? Does it have drivers that are supposed to work in Mavericks?
(Edit: just checked, yes it does, so it should work...)
User avatar
desmond
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6563
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2006 12:00 am

mu:zines | music magazine archive | Latest: SOS Apr 87
Vintage issues of Sound On Sound, Electronics & Music Maker, Music Technology and more...


Re: My studio software is falling apart! What now?

Postby I'd Rather Play » Wed Apr 23, 2014 12:57 am

I'm running OS 10.7.5 and the latest Apogee update for the duet for 10.7.5.

It works... sort of. I now have the problem (which I've rad a lot about, but never before experienced) of the duet not always loading when booting up and having to unplug and replug the usb for the mac to see it.
I'd Rather Play
Frequent Poster
Posts: 590
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2004 12:00 am


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests