You are here

Is there any way to install new XP OS whilst in Win 7?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Is there any way to install new XP OS whilst in Win 7?

Postby Rhys Llewellyn » Sat Oct 08, 2011 2:27 am

Hi.

So basically, I want to have an XP partition for a select few programmes/USB devices which don't work in Win 7.

I've done numerous multi boot installs, using the usual method of booting from disc, selecting partition to format/install etc...

However, for some reason my XP Install disc just constantly hangs. The disc seems to be working fine as I used to upgrade to Win 7 last week. Maybe the fact my Win 7 is an upgrade disc has something to do with it??

So my question is: Is there any way to extract/install all the XP files to a dedicated partition whilst running my Win 7 partition? I've just tried copying all the files across, about to reboot, but I seriously doubt it's going to work!

Thanks.
Rhys Llewellyn
Regular
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Is there any way to install new XP OS whilst in Win 7?

Postby ef37a » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:27 am

You could give www.vitualbox.org a try.

Re usb devices, if they are keyboards try the M-Audio W7 usb MIDI driver, sorted my Evolution kbd a treat!

Last resort, keep an old XP machine under the bench netted,S/PDIF'ed and MIDI'ed to the W7 one.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7336
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: northampton uk

#They did not listen, they are not listening still...Perhaps they never will?#


Re: Is there any way to install new XP OS whilst in Win 7?

Postby ef37a » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:31 am

Why! Can't I edit this post?

Anyway that link should read www.virtualbox.org

Wiv an R.
Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7336
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: northampton uk

#They did not listen, they are not listening still...Perhaps they never will?#


Re: Is there any way to install new XP OS whilst in Win 7?

Postby DragonLogos » Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:32 am

The Sun microsystems virtual box does work well, it does require you to register your XP number again because basically it is an install of XP, there again only do that once you have everything running (you have 30 days) - You can also try and get an XP box via Windows live, this used to be only if you had A Pro or Ultimate edition, and had to have visualization turn on (and available) in your BIOS - but have heard Microsoft have passed on this requirement

What system specs have you got BTW? Sounds a bit Intel and Gigabyte
User avatar
DragonLogos
Regular
Posts: 276
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 11:00 pm

Re: Is there any way to install new XP OS whilst in Win 7?

Postby Rhys Llewellyn » Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:54 pm

Thanks very much.

Virtualbox looks interesting. I hope it's not too complex to set up. Here I go... :)
Rhys Llewellyn
Regular
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Is there any way to install new XP OS whilst in Win 7?

Postby Steve A » Mon Oct 10, 2011 12:59 pm

I'm not sure if you meant that you've used your XP disc to install onto this particular machine before or just doing dual boots in general. If it's the latter, could it be that you're installing to a machine that's too modern for XP to install using the drivers it comes preloaded with (for example, if you have SATA hard drives)? In which case, your solution is to create a new install disk by 'slip streaming' the required drivers which you can achieve using a free program called nlite (it's easier than it sounds).

By the way, it's tricky to get XP working elegantly in a dual boot with Windows 7 unless XP is installed first. You'll encounter headaches like the system drive not being C: and the Windows 7 drive still being visible with no way of hiding it etc etc. I've just been through that particular brand of hell myself.
User avatar
Steve A
Regular
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: Edinburgh

Re: Is there any way to install new XP OS whilst in Win 7?

Postby Rhys Llewellyn » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:52 am

Yeah it seems to be one headache after another. To be honest I've given up... I can live without a few of my older peripherals for now, and will just upgrade when I can. Too much hassle!
Rhys Llewellyn
Regular
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest