You are here

Avid ICON

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Avid ICON

Postby Situation » Fri Apr 27, 2012 5:53 pm

Can you use the Avid ICON console with hardware gear like Tube-Techs or GMLs
User avatar
Situation
Regular
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:00 pm

Re: Avid ICON

Postby robinv » Sun Apr 29, 2012 4:05 pm

Sure, the ICON is a controller, all the audio is handled by the Pro Tools HD gear so you can run your audio through whatever you like so actually the ICON is largely irrelevant to that.
User avatar
robinv
Frequent Poster
Posts: 564
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 11:00 pm

Molten Music Technology - Computers for doing music on


Making Music on the Microsoft Surface


Re: Avid ICON

Postby narcoman » Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:05 pm

ICON is not a console. It's a controller for PT. Whether or not you use hardware with PT on inserts has absolutely nothing to do with ICON; there are no inserts on ICON, no audio goes to the ICON itself (although it controls the monitoring of the XMON)... the only thing you can do on an ICON that has any direct analogue control is add an ADDA IO.

Two things; the ICON was probably the single most awesome thing I bought for the studio in terms of work flow in 20 years of doing this. Second ... don't really know why this is in the PC forum!!
narcoman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3439
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Battenburg to the power of 20 - said by Richie Royale in a moment of genius. 4pm. Wed 16th Nov 2011. Remember where you were....


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests