You are here

dual monitors for REAPER

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

dual monitors for REAPER

Postby SableTones » Tue Jan 22, 2013 12:53 pm

hi....i'm ckecking in, before running down to computer shop....and buying a monitor screen.

If i connect My PC (HP pavillion/Windows 7) to a second screen via HDMI, is it as simple as dragging a screen image across, after working through personalise options etc...say my REAPER mixer screen and that's it?

I just struggled to get REAPER to accept RME UFX under ASIO while a Focusrite Scarlett was on the system...needed to delete the focusrite programme....that's sorted and the excitements growing...

bring me down gently!

steve
SableTones
Regular
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Stroud UK

Re: dual monitors for REAPER

Postby The Elf » Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:07 pm

Reaper definitely works across multiple monitors. At least it does on my system!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9976
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: dual monitors for REAPER

Postby Dynamic Mike » Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:13 pm

On some DAW's you need to set Fx & stuff to 'always on top' but otherwise, yes it's that simple. Most video cards will even display a large '1' & '2' whilst you're tweaking depending on whether it's to the left or right of your main monitor.
Dynamic Mike
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2073
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2006 12:00 am

And of course there must be something wrong. In wanting to silence any song.


Re: dual monitors for REAPER

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:41 pm

sabletones wrote:If i connect My PC (HP pavillion/Windows 7) to a second screen via HDMI, is it as simple as dragging a screen image across, after working through personalise options etc...say my REAPER mixer screen and that's it?


As othes have said, Reaper can definitely cope with multiple screens, and you can arrange various parts of the display as you wish (eg, time-line on one, mixer on another, etc.

However, this all depends on how well the computer handles multiple screens, and whether it can support different images (and different resolutions) on each screen, as opposed to replicating the same image on both. You'll need to check your computer's garphics card capabilities to answer that question.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 17082
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK

Technical Editor, Sound On Sound


Re: dual monitors for REAPER

Postby shufflebeat » Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:59 pm

For what it's worth I sometimes run my mediocre Acer laptop with a biiiigg screen hooked up by VGA, arrange page on the biggie, mixer/docker on t'other.. The laptop and Reaper don't seem to notice. I have a multi screen template set up on 'layouts' that I can flip any project in and out of.

Nae bother.
shufflebeat
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3405
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Manchester, UK

I don't know much but I'm happy to share my ignorance with anyone who can use it.


Re: dual monitors for REAPER

Postby SableTones » Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:44 pm

humph...now it's snowing,

your replies are much appreciated.

thanks you

steve
SableTones
Regular
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Stroud UK

Re: dual monitors for REAPER

Postby Martin Walker » Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:00 am

sabletones wrote:humph...now it's snowing,

your replies are much appreciated.

thanks you

steve


Do you mean your monitor screens are suffering from background noise, or that the weather has changed?


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9821
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode


Re: dual monitors for REAPER

Postby SableTones » Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:19 pm

it was the weather.....much to my daughters chagrin, i relocated the telly for immediate gratification
SableTones
Regular
Posts: 461
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Stroud UK

Re: dual monitors for REAPER

Postby Martin Walker » Wed Jan 30, 2013 10:13 pm

sabletones wrote:i relocated the telly for immediate gratification

The mind boggles!


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9821
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests