You are here

Two Cubase 7 Problems

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby Honey Badger » Sun Jan 27, 2013 9:00 pm

Aaaaaggghhh, Cubase 7 is driving me mad! I love its new features, but I have spent so much time trying to get to the bottom of a couple of "quirks" that I haven't made much music with it yet.

I have a Q9550, 8GB RAM, and I'm using W7 64bit and the Focusrite Saffire ASIO driver. The main problem is that I get glitches and dropouts with VST synths with a buffer size of less than 1024. Is this normal? It means that my input and output latencies are around the 25ms mark. As I mentioned in another post I thought this was down to a lack of RAM when I was using the 32 bit bit version but I have now installed the 64 bit version and the problem is exactly the same.

The other problem is that from time to time (I'm afraid I can't be any more specific) Cubase freezes. When it does this I can play a track by using keyboard shortcuts but if I try to do anything else or click anywhere with the mouse it doesn't respond and makes a "bing" sound. I would normally associate this behaviour with having a dialogue box open or the program waiting for a response from me but this doesn't seem to be the case. The only way round it is by quitting Cubase through Task Manager.

Can anyone shed any light on these issues please?
User avatar
Honey Badger
Poster
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:00 pm
Le geek, c'est chic

Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby tex » Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:53 am

ACore2quad won't cut it with Cubase 7 due to the FSB speed. i7 systems communicate directly between the ram and CPU removing that bottleneck.
tex
Regular
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 11:00 pm

Success is round the corner. It's also round the bend.


Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby Pete Kaine » Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:23 am

Honey Badger wrote:Aaaaaggghhh, Cubase 7 is driving me mad! I love its new features, but I have spent so much time trying to get to the bottom of a couple of "quirks" that I haven't made much music with it yet.

I have a Q9550, 8GB RAM, and I'm using W7 64bit and the Focusrite Saffire ASIO driver. The main problem is that I get glitches and dropouts with VST synths with a buffer size of less than 1024. Is this normal? It means that my input and output latencies are around the 25ms mark. As I mentioned in another post I thought this was down to a lack of RAM when I was using the 32 bit bit version but I have now installed the 64 bit version and the problem is exactly the same.

Which Saffire is it? Did it also do this on your previous Cubase revision?
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2452
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby Honey Badger » Mon Jan 28, 2013 12:08 pm

Hi Pete, it's a Saffire Pro 24 DSP. I didn't notice this problem with 6.5 and it is quite pronounced now, so am confident that it has either started or become worse with version 7.
User avatar
Honey Badger
Poster
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:00 pm
Le geek, c'est chic

Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby tex » Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:47 pm

Honey Badger wrote:Hi Pete, it's a Saffire Pro 24 DSP. I didn't notice this problem with 6.5 and it is quite pronounced now, so am confident that it has either started or become worse with version 7.
Each new version of anything chucks out more data and you have just reached the tipping point of your system. There's a lot going on with just that new mixer.
If you want to hang onto that computer I'd consider sending Cubase back under the blanket of "not fit for described use" ie: not enough forward information for the user concerning ancillary equipment needs". Cubase works perfectly on my i7 computer and it was optimised from v6 for i7 computers and Windows 7.
tex
Regular
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 11:00 pm

Success is round the corner. It's also round the bend.


Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby Pete Kaine » Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:49 pm

Have you at any point done the FW legacy driver fix?

http://www.focusrite.com/answerbase/en/article.php?id=1030

I know it's odd that it's only happened after the update but as mentioned above the could be something extra going down the cable now that is knocking it over the edge.

Also what FW card are you using in the system or is it on board? If so what motherboard?
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2452
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby Honey Badger » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:04 pm

Thanks Pete and Tex, unfortunately the Focusrite driver fix hasn't made any diffence and a new PC isn't an option at the moment so I guess I'll have to live with it. I've just fired up Cubase 6.5 again and the problem is there with the old version too though less pronounced - I guess I just didn't notice it before for some reason.

I've currently got a DP35DP - firewire is on the board.
User avatar
Honey Badger
Poster
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:00 pm
Le geek, c'est chic

Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby Pete Kaine » Wed Jan 30, 2013 9:59 am

That's a TI chip as well from what I can remember, so the shouldn't be an issue

Have you tried running DPC latency checker to look for any spikes? Got a wifi dongle in there?
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2452
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby Honey Badger » Wed Jan 30, 2013 8:13 pm

OK, so here's a thing. Fired her up just now to run the DPC Latency Checker and there is absolutely no problem any more! I can even play piano through Kontakt with a buffer size of 32! Latency ticks along nicely at under 100us and with no peaks by the way.

I can only think that the Focusrite driver suggestion did work, but that I forgot to restart the system yesterday (though I thought I did) - I installed an update of MixControl at the same time too.

So thank you Pete. No need for a new PC after all, but when I do take the plunge it'll be a Scan
User avatar
Honey Badger
Poster
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 11:00 pm
Le geek, c'est chic

Re: Two Cubase 7 Problems

Postby Pete Kaine » Thu Jan 31, 2013 10:01 am

Good to hear, could have been either/or of those two things but all that matters is its working now.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2452
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests