You are here

Cubase or Pro Tools

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby GRAHAM99 » Sat Mar 23, 2013 2:52 pm

I am replacing my music pc.I currently have Cubase SX3.
Not sure if I should get Cubase 7 or Pro Tools.
Will be using system mostly for band recording etc
I have an Echo Layla interface, I assume this can still be used?
GRAHAM99
Poster
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby Kwackman » Sat Mar 23, 2013 4:46 pm

Ferrari or Lambo?
Fender or Gibson?
Tesco or Asda?

There's no correct answer!

I'd suggest you get a demo on Protools, (I don't think they do a demo version, but could be wrong?), but there is a download demo version of Cubase 7 that should give you an idea if it suits your workflow.
User avatar
Kwackman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 766
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Belfast

Cubase, guitars.


Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby Benjamin Nyman » Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:00 pm

Hi! I use both PT 10, Cubase 6 and Logic 9. I would go with Cubase, especially as you are used to it. PT have some editing features and workflow things that are very good if you want to work real fast, but nothing really that Cubase can't do... But on the other hand, there are lots of things I find Cubase to be better on, especially with the MIDI programming, I like the folders and comping facilities in Cubase. One thing that I really hate on non HD PT is the delay compensation. It sucks!!

I only use Logic when sending projects back and forth to clients that use Logic.
User avatar
Benjamin Nyman
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Arusha, Tanzania

Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby The Elf » Sat Mar 23, 2013 6:46 pm

If you're comfortable with Cubase SX, then you will likely find Cubase 7 more familiar and friendly.

If you want to pass work around, especially with pro studios, then Pro Tools might make life easier.

I use both, but prefer Cubase.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 9969
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2001 11:00 pm
Location: Sheffield, UK

An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.


Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby BJG145 » Sat Mar 23, 2013 7:12 pm

If you don't know, you should save some cash and try Reaper instead.
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2986
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Norwich UK

 


Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby Sam Inglis » Sun Mar 24, 2013 12:21 pm

For mainly audio based stuff like recording, editing and mixing I personally lean slightly towards Pro Tools. It has a fantastically powerful yet simple set of grouping and editing tools which make editing multitrack recordings simple. Cubase has improved massively in that respect over the years but doesn't feel quite as intuitive to me. For instance, if you're working with lots of tracks, PT consistently lets you apply almost any operation to all tracks (Shift) or all selected tracks (Shift + Alt), which is a great timesaver. But really, as others have said, you need to try both and see what works for you.
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1916
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 12:00 am

Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby Richard Graham » Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:26 pm

BJG145 wrote:If you don't know, you should save some cash and try Reaper instead.

+1. Reaper is excellent for band recording and mixing.
User avatar
Richard Graham
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2006 11:00 pm
"We live in capitalism, its power seems inescapable: but then, so did the divine right of kings. Any human power can be resisted and changed by human beings." - Ursula K. LeGuin

Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby twotoedsloth » Sun Mar 24, 2013 10:45 pm

Setting aside the issue of your DAW software... how old is your Echo Layla?

If it's the original Layla it probably won't work in a modern mainboard. You also won't be able to get drivers for Windows 7 or 8.
twotoedsloth
Frequent Poster
Posts: 703
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 12:00 am

Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby phraser » Sun Mar 24, 2013 11:37 pm

I use an Echo Layla 3G - works fine with Cubase 7 and has updated drivers for 32 bit and 64 bit.
Some have acknowledged processing gliches when using limited 32 bit memory.
User avatar
phraser
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 11:00 pm

 


Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby GRAHAM99 » Mon Mar 25, 2013 9:21 pm

Downloaded trial version of Reaper.Very impressed - what is the catch? Seems too good to be true!
GRAHAM99
Poster
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2002 12:00 am

Re: Cubase or Pro Tools

Postby Martin Walker » Tue Mar 26, 2013 6:08 pm

There is no catch, except that various users have found that some tasks that are easy to find on other sequencers are just as easy to carry out on Reaper...

...but only once you've tracked down where they are (there are LOADS of functions tucked away in there), and got your head around Reaper's slightly different approach.

A search here should find a few threads on this tack


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9688
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests