You are here

Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

Postby Andi » Mon Jun 17, 2013 11:35 pm

This is probably dead obvious but it;s been a long few days andI can;t figure it. I'm running Win8, Cubase 7 RME FF400 and BlueBerry flashback screen recorder andI can't record the playback from Cubase. If I set screen record and run Winamp - I can capture the playback through the "PC Speakers - what you hear" setting on the screen recorder (although muy output is on Analogue 1&2, selectign this gets nothing). When I play back from Cubase no sound is detected. Probbly dead obvious butI'm struggling - any ideas?

Thanks
User avatar
Andi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 11:00 pm
Andi, www.thedustbowlaudio.com Mixing, Mastering, Audio Editing (and articles) at The Dustbowl Audio

Re: Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

Postby Pete Kaine » Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:01 am

I reckon Cubase is using ASIO for it's sound engine where as the screen recorder will be using windows own WDM driver, so whilst you ticking what you hear in regards to the WDM engine the engine itself isn't hearing anything as your not routing anything through it.

Try switching your Cubase to WDM or if that brings the whole lot crashing down then try routing it back through the recording client using some sort of virtual cable software.

Failing that export your audio to a stereo mix throw both that and the screen captured video into a video editor and line the audio back up with the visuals.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2558
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

Postby Andi » Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:05 pm

I seem to have lost a post here - thanks Peter. I eventually came to pretty well the same conclusion - don't think Cubase can even see a WDM driver. I'll have a look for a way to direct ASIO to WDM or else it's the NLE route. I did look a Jack but dont really fancy the learning curve right now so if anyone has a suggestion for a re-router I'd be happy to know it.

Thanks.

A.
User avatar
Andi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 11:00 pm
Andi, www.thedustbowlaudio.com Mixing, Mastering, Audio Editing (and articles) at The Dustbowl Audio

Re: Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

Postby Pete Kaine » Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:28 pm

I use VAC personally but only when routing into Total Audio Recorder. I've not tried it in the exact combination you require, so not making any promises.

Trail version of VAC can be had from : http://software.muzychenko.net/eng/vac.htm
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2558
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester

Re: Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

Postby Andi » Tue Jun 18, 2013 4:21 pm

Thanks again Pete. I managed to get it to work using Direct X Drivers - I had to enable the on-board sound and actually put a plug in the on-board speaker socket, then it all leapt into life. Bit of a faff but less painful with a deadline looming than trying to figure-out how to make Jack work!?!

A.
User avatar
Andi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 656
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 11:00 pm
Andi, www.thedustbowlaudio.com Mixing, Mastering, Audio Editing (and articles) at The Dustbowl Audio

Re: Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

Postby Mixedup » Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:34 pm

I encountered similar issues with Cubase/Camtasia when trying to get Cubase audio out and the narration mic input on to separate tracks. It's do-able, but not easy. One word of warning I'd offer to anyone trying this is that if you change the audio interface driver in Cubase, it will lose any 'saved' external FX routing that you might have set up. There's no means of recall other than taking a screen cap of your routing as an aide memoire. Annoying, that. I can't find any decent screencast software that can handle ASIO drivers, so if anyone knows of any then do please let me know.

[sorry - didn't mean to hijack a thread, but through the info might be relevant to anyone reading this!]
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4017
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Laputa

Re: Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

Postby tex » Mon Jul 08, 2013 2:02 pm

Excuse me for being just slightly obtuse but why? If Cubase don't do it and screen capture don't do it then it's a good bet that nobody does this. As a pioneer it might help you to contact both parties. Or google "screen capture + asio" or something might throw up a rare piece of software that's for the job.
tex
Regular
Posts: 361
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 11:00 pm

Success is round the corner. It's also round the bend.


Re: Screen Capture can;t get sound from Cubase

Postby Mixedup » Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:12 pm

Why is a good question. I did indeed contact a few different manufacturers. The guys who make Camtasia have it on their FAQ that they're not planning to support ASIO. And even Adobe, who support ASIO in some software, don't support it in Catpivate, despite that being a very expensive piece of software. not to mention they're moving to a horrible sub-based license. I didn't bother with many of the others as the screencast side of things was already lacking what I needed.

The answer, in so far as I can tell, is that for the vast majority users, the standard WDM drivers are sufficient — they need to record from a headset mic to the soundcard audio input, and they need to record the Windows output. The audio-specialist market is a tiny percentage of their potential userbase, so development time gets deployed on other features.

If anyone wants to make a better screencasting app with multichannel ASIO driver support, then there's an opportunity here...
User avatar
Mixedup
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4017
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Laputa


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests