You are here

Outbrowse.exe

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

Outbrowse.exe

Postby OneWorld » Wed Apr 23, 2014 4:07 pm

When using Chrome, I get the Adobe Flash Update screen, which looks legit to me, so I click Update Now but notice it wants to download a file called 'Outbrowse.exe' that doesn't seem to be an Adobe Flash Updater to me, and on the internet some say it could be a trojan/virus

Anyone else come across this?
OneWorld
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1975
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: Outbrowse.exe

Postby BJG145 » Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:06 pm

...no, but I don't like the sound if it. I'm wondering if you already have either Outbrowse or other spyware on your PC, so I'd Google "remove outbrowse" and try following the instructions to see. You might also want to run something like Superantispyware or Malwarebytes.
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2986
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Norwich UK

 


Re: Outbrowse.exe

Postby OneWorld » Wed Apr 23, 2014 5:16 pm

I didn't actually download it, I always choose the 'Save As' option and as soon as I saw 'outbrowse.exe' I pressed the ejector seat.

Thing is my partner uses a PC and she is so busy multi-tasking she probably won't notice it and just press 'yes' I'd better go check !
OneWorld
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1975
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: Outbrowse.exe

Postby Sam Inglis » Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:49 pm

If it is dodgy, it wouldn't be the first such thing to masquerade as a Flash updater.
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1916
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 12:00 am

Re: Outbrowse.exe

Postby alexis » Wed Apr 30, 2014 10:42 pm

You all know about the Flash vulnerability in IE, right?

https://technet.microsoft.com/library/security/2755801

http://www.zdnet.com/microsoft-discloses-zero-day-in-all-ver...

I guess this is something different though, not being IE? Either way, it's a bad week for Flash ...
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3089
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests