You are here

buying windows 7 64bit software ?

For anything relating to music-making on Windows computers, with lots of FAQs. Moderated by Martin Walker.

buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby russ » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:05 pm

hello... i think im in need to upgrade to 64bit, to enable me to add extra ram as im having problems with some vsti loading...i`ve checked that my computer can accept 64bit and all is ok there... i`ve seen some windows 7 pro / ultimate 64bit on ebay and the prices vary, from well over £100 to some being as low as £40/£60.. not being too up on these things im wary of buying some dodgy or unusable item... im not sure if its the right thing to add link here to some items i`ve seen, so wont for the moment, there`s a lot that seem to be sold in quantity as `unused from decommissioned Dell computers`... if anyone could advise then i`d be grateful... thanks
russ
Poster
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby mick.n » Thu Jul 17, 2014 8:52 pm

russ wrote:hi`ve seen some windows 7 pro / ultimate 64bit on ebay and the prices vary, from well over £100 to some being as low as £40/£60.. not being too up on these things im wary of buying some dodgy or unusable item...

I bought Windows 7 Pro OEM 32 bit for my laptop from ebay (think it was over 4 years ago)..... cost was around £30-£40.

Last year i bought Windows 7 Pro OEM 64 bit for my desktop pc.Cost was £27......no problems with activation or updates etc.

Still all fine as of now.
mick.n
Frequent Poster
Posts: 731
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: It's grim up north.

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby OneWorld » Fri Jul 18, 2014 11:03 am

Same here, bought Win7/64 for £30 off eBay, and it was fully legit, although it was OEM. And anyway, with eBay, you have Buyer Protection, any problems just fire the software back.
OneWorld
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2009
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby The_BPP » Fri Jul 18, 2014 11:56 am

Yep, I did the same on a new build PC for a friend. eBay, £40...

When it came, it said DELL all over the packaging, but it was still a standard install of W7 which activated and worked, no problems.
User avatar
The_BPP
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1413
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Temp » Fri Jul 18, 2014 3:18 pm

i`ve checked that my computer can accept 64bit and all is ok there

I suspect you already know this, but it's the CPU (processor) that ultimately defines 64-bit capability (i.e. there's no point running 64-bit software on 32-bit hardware, if it runs at all).

Here's a link to Microsoft's FAQ on the subject:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-gb/windows/32-bit-and-64-bit-windows#1TC=windows-7

Cheers.
User avatar
Temp
Regular
Posts: 125
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Medway, UK

From each according to their ability, to each according to their needs.


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby russ » Fri Jul 18, 2014 7:07 pm

yeah i researched that and checked that it was capable of being able to run 64bit, and all is ok...

thanks for replies, have dived in and purchased, so hopefully all good.
russ
Poster
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby SecretSam » Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:53 am

Strictly speaking, the OEM licence is only valid for the original machine it is sold with, but in practice I have found that MS are sometimes willing to support OEM versions on secondary machines.

One thing to be aware of on Win7 64 bit machines: if you use Firewire devices, there are known issues with some of the chipsets/drivers. Apparently the TI chipsets are said to be good. Many of the others (including the native Intel motherboard firewire chipset) have what they call 'known issues.' Which is a technical way of saying they don't f*&^%$£ work properly.
SecretSam
Frequent Poster
Posts: 827
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Officially, I do not exist.

Instant gratification is actually pretty good. It's fast as well.


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Exalted Wombat » Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:30 am

What are the specs of your computer? "Capable of running 64 bit" and "worth throwing further money at" can be two different things.
Exalted Wombat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5652
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:00 am
Location: London UK

You don't have to write songs. The world doesn't want you to write songs. It would probably prefer it if you didn't. So write songs if you want to. Otherwise, dont. Go fishing instead.


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby russ » Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:44 pm

thanks for the extra input.... all ended up well, windows 7 pro 64bit up and running... 8gb ram now fitted... no issues, all is good.... except the nightmare of reloading and authorizing of other software, mostly got there, cant find installation disc of battery 3.. pain in backside !
russ
Poster
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby damoore » Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:07 pm

Incidentally, if you have lots of 32 bit VSTs you want to continue to use with the 64 bit version of your DAW/vst player/whatever, check out jBridge. That works well for me - I mainly use it to run B4 II, which is 32 bit only. I expect others will chime in with alternatives.
damoore
Frequent Poster
Posts: 927
Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2009 11:00 pm
Location: New Hampshire

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby mick.n » Wed Jul 30, 2014 8:32 pm

russ wrote: except the nightmare of reloading and authorizing of other software, mostly got there, cant find installation disc of battery 3.. pain in backside !

Always a pain in the backside......the last reinstall i did was when i first bought the Win 7 pro. Was on the best part of a week getting everything installed & authorised!

+ 1 for the Jbridge, used it for a couple of years now & never a problem. Worth every penny.
mick.n
Frequent Poster
Posts: 731
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:00 pm
Location: It's grim up north.

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Martin Walker » Mon Aug 04, 2014 6:55 pm

mick.n wrote:+ 1 for the Jbridge, used it for a couple of years now & never a problem. Worth every penny.

Another +1 from me for jbridge - I still wouldn't be able to use a clutch of my favourite plug-ins without it


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9821
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby BJG145 » Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:43 pm

It's great...though I'm bemused that this cheap plugin does an essential task that some of the leading DAWs apparently don't (or, does it better).
User avatar
BJG145
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2988
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 11:00 pm
Location: Norwich UK

 


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Martin Walker » Wed Aug 06, 2014 2:23 pm

BJG145 wrote:It's great...though I'm bemused that this cheap plugin does an essential task that some of the leading DAWs apparently don't (or, does it better).


As far as I can tell, this is because 'some' of the big-name DAW developers regard bridge software as a short term stop-gap measure until all the 32-bit plug-in developers (from multinational corporations to 1-man bedroom operations) get their arses in gear and write 64-bit versions of their entire product range (even for retired products that nevertheless remain essential to many musicians).

This ain't going to happen

But the DAW folk won't spend any more time refining their existing bridging software, because they don't consider it their 'responsibility', despite the HUGE number of musicians still running both 32-bit and 64-bit plug-ins in tandem


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9821
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby russ » Wed Aug 06, 2014 6:57 pm

im on cubase 7.5.20 and dont seem to have had much problems with vst/i working, the only one that wont is spectrasonics trilogy... i`ve been told that plugins with /// next to them are supposed to be 32bit, is that right ?... there`s a couple in the list with this, they open fine and work, so cubase vst bridge must be handling things ok for them, just not for trilogy, if i choose trilogy it just comes up as a small box, which seems you can get the default trilogy tone playing, but no other way of selecting sounds etc... i was kind of put off testing jbridge with the setup wanting to move things into its own folders, so i cancelled out, im just wary of it pulling things into folders as it was an issue making sure plugins where in the correct folder in the first place... i did read an sos article though and it seemed to ease some wariness, so might still have a try... any thoughts though ?
russ
Poster
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby SecretSam » Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:00 am

just curious - what important plugins (apart from Trilogy) don't have 64 bit versions ? All the ones I use most are available as 64 bit ...
SecretSam
Frequent Poster
Posts: 827
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2002 12:00 am
Location: Officially, I do not exist.

Instant gratification is actually pretty good. It's fast as well.


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Martin Walker » Thu Aug 07, 2014 9:12 am

Well speaking personally, let's see what I still have in my vstplugins-32 folder:


iZotope Spectron and Vinyl (both now discontinued, with no likelihood of 64-bit versions)

Delaydots' Spectrumworx (the original version, for which I have created a load of my own presets)

PSP MasterQ (still used for its useful range of softsat algorithms that prevent nasty digital overload)

A clutch of Bootsy freeware plug-ins (particularly Ferric TDS)

JB Ferox (a useful tape simulator that's not cutting edge, but still great for lo-fi treatments)

TT Dynamic Range Meter (still used on pre-mastering)

Voxengo Pristine Space (still for me the most straightforward and useful convolution reverb host)

SHEPPi Free Spatial Enhancer (does something that none of my other spatial plug-ins quite matches)


Now, none of these may be remotely of use to you, but they are to me, which is why I still rely on jBridge

Anyone else care to chip in with 32-bit only plug-ins that they can't live without?


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9821
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Synth Builder » Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:07 pm

Martin Walker wrote:Anyone else care to chip in with 32-bit only plug-ins that they can't live without?

VAZ Modular

And I suppose I could add Reason 5 via 32-bit rewire. I know I could upgrade to 7 but that's way more CPU and RAM hungry than lowly old 5. And 5 does all I want.

Tony
Synth Builder
Poster
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Cumbria, UK

Oakley Sound Modular Synthesisers and Effects Electronic Music by Takla Makan


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Scramble » Thu Aug 07, 2014 2:16 pm

Kjaerhus Classic (still love those).
GSi 201 Echo, and VB3 organ
Voxengo: HarmoniEQ, Max and Punch
Wizooverb
The old M-Tron
and a lot of my IK stuff is still 32-bit.
Scramble
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2236
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 11:00 pm

 


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby alexis » Thu Aug 07, 2014 3:10 pm

russ wrote:im on cubase 7.5.20 ... i`ve been told that plugins with /// next to them are supposed to be 32bit, is that right ?...

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought the " /// " symbol meant VST3 ...?
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3195
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Martin Walker » Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:04 pm

alexis wrote:
russ wrote:im on cubase 7.5.20 ... i`ve been told that plugins with /// next to them are supposed to be 32bit, is that right ?...


Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought the " /// " symbol meant VST3 ...?


Yes, the /// symbol does stand for VST3 format (as opposed to the still much more widely used VST 2.4 format)

It's often not obvious which is a 32-bit and which a 64-bit plug-in when they are in action, except if some bridging utilities are used that have a visual presence (logo and the like)


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9821
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Martin Walker » Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:07 pm

BTW, thanks to Synth Builder and Scramble for adding some '32-bit only' plug-in favourites to the combined list

Voxengo's HarmoniEQ and LF Max Punch do both seem to be available in 64-bit form now, as does GSi's VB3, so I won't put them on the list (it's so easy to get out of sync with updates isn't it )


Please keep them coming so we can get a better idea of what oldies are still popular!
Remember, I'm asking for popular 32-bit only plug-ins that SOS Forums users wouldn't like to be without, not a comprehensive list



Bootsy freeware plug-ins http://varietyofsound.wordpress.com/
Delaydots' Spectrumworx (website not available)
GForce M-Tron http://www.gforcesoftware.com/legacy/m-tron
GSi GS-201 Tape Echo www.genuinesoundware.com
iZotope Spectron and Vinyl https://www.izotope.com/en/products/discontinued/
JB Ferox (website not available)
Kjaerhus Classic http://acoustica.com/plugins/vst-directx.htm
PSP MasterQ http://www.pspaudioware.com/plugins/equalizers/psp_masterq/
SHEPPi Free Spatial Enhancer http://dallashodgson.info/articles/OpenAmbienceProject/
Spectrasonics Trilogy http://www.spectrasonics.net/products/legacy/trilogy.php
TT Dynamic Range Meter http://www.pleasurizemusic.com/
VAZ Modular http://www.vaz-synths.com/vmIndex.html
Voxengo Pristine Space http://www.voxengo.com/product/pspace/
Wizooverb http://vst-club.com/vst-plug-ins/wizooverb-p-1844.html




Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9821
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby alexis » Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:50 pm

Martin Walker wrote:Well speaking personally, let's see what I still have in my vstplugins-32 folder:...


SHEPPi Free Spatial Enhancer (does something that none of my other spatial plug-ins quite matches)

...
Martin

Hi Martin - you didn't want to spend $990 on the real deal, K-Stereo Ambience processor??

I went and built a poor man's SHEPPi just for fun a while back, from something I found on line (I thought it might have been one of your articles! ... ). It was fun and educational to do, and the good thing is I can still use it in my 64-bit Cubase 7.5.20 without a wrapper!
User avatar
alexis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3195
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 12:00 am
Location: San Antonio, TX USA

Cubase7.5.40 64bit;i5-4570 3.2GHz,16GB RAM;W10 64bit on Samsung SSD840 Pro256GB;Seagte 1TB SATA600 Audio;UR28M;Motif8;UAD2Solo;Jamstix 3.3;BCF2K;TC Helicon VoiceOne;RevoicePro3.2


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Martin Walker » Thu Aug 07, 2014 4:54 pm

alexis wrote:
Martin Walker wrote:Well speaking personally, let's see what I still have in my vstplugins-32 folder:...


SHEPPi Free Spatial Enhancer (does something that none of my other spatial plug-ins quite matches)

...
Martin


Hi Martin - you didn't want to spend $990 on the real deal, K-Stereo Ambience processor??

I went and built a poor man's SHEPPi just for fun a while back, from something I found on line (I thought it might have been one of your articles! ... ). It was fun and educational to do, and the good thing is I can still use it in my 64-bit Cubase 7.5.20 without a wrapper!


Yep, I suspect it was this PC Notes column from SOS May 2010

www.soundonsound.com/sos/may10/articles ... .htm#para1


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9821
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby russ » Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:50 pm

Martin Walker wrote:
alexis wrote:
russ wrote:im on cubase 7.5.20 ... i`ve been told that plugins with /// next to them are supposed to be 32bit, is that right ?...

Please correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought the " /// " symbol meant VST3 ...?

Yes, the /// symbol does stand for VST3 format (as opposed to the still much more widely used VST 2.4 format)

It's often not obvious which is a 32-bit and which a 64-bit plug-in when they are in action, except if some bridging utilities are used that have a visual presence (logo and the like)


Martin

ok, thanks to both for correcting/informing me with that... vsti wise i mostly have NI stuff...some Arturia, maybe one or two others... most of my itb processing is done either with cubase plugs, or mostly UAD, i do have lexicon pcm reverb plugs as well... all of that seems to work fine since the upgrade, i think most is in 64bit form... i did have some older freebie plugs on the system, but did`nt use them that much and have been ok with clearing the clutter out.
russ
Poster
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Scramble » Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:48 am

Martin Walker wrote:Voxengo's HarmoniEQ and LF Max Punch do both seem to be available in 64-bit form now, as does GSi's VB3, so I won't put them on the list (it's so easy to get out of sync with updates isn't it )


I knew about the Voxengo updates, they've been around for a while, but you have to pay for them! And as I don't use those plugins that much I declined. (But yes, they shouldn't go on your list.)

Didn't know that VB3 was now 64-bit. I used that on a track a few months ago, it's a good organ.
Scramble
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2236
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2002 11:00 pm

 


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby JoeCosta » Tue Aug 19, 2014 9:46 am

Man, you guys are lucky, I had to buy mine in Portuguese ..
JoeCosta
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 11:00 pm

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby PJ20 » Tue Aug 19, 2014 11:08 am

I bought windows 7 32 bit from ebay as well .. payed 4k i think
PJ20
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 11:00 pm

Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby ef37a » Wed Aug 20, 2014 8:42 am

I paid full whack for a retail W7 Home with a 32 and 64 bit disc.
I thought I could use the 64 bit disc on my Asus new build (which I have) and the 32 bit on another, P4 machine but since there is only one Windows code I don't think I can, can I?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7194
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: northampton uk

#They did not listen, they are not listening still...Perhaps they never will?#


Re: buying windows 7 64bit software ?

Postby Pete Kaine » Wed Aug 20, 2014 1:00 pm

One licence code = 1 machine & install. They shipped those dual disks with the intention of letting you software a machine with 32bit then upgrade at no extra cost when you were ready. Retail allows you to carry the licence to other machines where OEM offically doesn't.
User avatar
Pete Kaine
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2476
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Manchester

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Li-rocchi and 1 guest