You are here

Taylor 615ce

For all things relating to guitars, basses, amps, pedals & accessories.

Taylor 615ce

Postby kinglouis » Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:21 pm

Hi All,

I've been offered this taylor at a good knock-down price from an in-law; whilst I'm a pretty proficient guitarist I don't know a vast amount about acoustics. I was looking to upgrade to an acoustic that records beautifully in most styles (I record a lot of music for tv in pretty much any genre) and gigs well (acoustic guitar/jazz vox duo). Is this a good all-round guitar?

Having played it a bit in the past it has a cracking action and a lovely tone but I was hoping for some thoughts from them wot know better. Is it a good general work-horse?

Many thanks.
kinglouis
Regular

Re: Taylor 615ce

Postby RitchieM » Tue Apr 30, 2013 3:03 pm

Buy buy buy!!!!

Never played a 614, but I own a 314ce ltd, a 355 12 string and have played a 514.

Oh, and my sons middle name is Taylor, and it's NOT because of that clown from Twilight!

They are the best.
RitchieM
Regular

Postby CS70 » Tue Apr 30, 2013 8:41 pm

Taylors are good pieces of kit in general, then it's down to your preferences and your fingers.
Since it's an in-law, can't you just try it? If it sounds right and feels right and your random checks on ebay confirm it's a good price.. what's to think about? :-) Worst case, you resell it.
CS70
Frequent Poster

Silver Spoon - It's just music Check out our latest single and video!

Postby Bazza » Tue Apr 30, 2013 9:45 pm

Nice guitars. Mine has quite a wide neck and cuts through a mix very well.

Check ebay for prices. I would describe £1500 or less as knock down, but as always DYOR.

Bazza
Bazza
Regular

This time next week, who'll give a sh*t http://www.podcastrevision.co.uk

Postby Madman_Greg » Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:26 pm

My rule of thumb for evaluating acoustic guitars for recording is as follows. Which may or may not be correct – no science behind this at all? Just my thoughts really.