You are here

Microwave 2 low output?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Microwave 2 low output?

Postby ddbs » Sat Jan 15, 2011 11:22 am

hello,

ever since i bought a microwave 2 i keep struggling to get a decent level into my daw with it. if you initialize a sound and then play/tweak it, it will only register at -30 dbfs on my soundcards.
only if i stack the sounds in multimode i get up to a workable level.
is this something any fellow mw2 owners could verify? if you initialize a sound/program and run it into your computer, what meter reading do you get?
any help would be appreciated.
ps. when turning up the gain noise levels increase up to a point where the signal becomes unusable.
:?
ddbs
Poster
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: Microwave 2 low output?

Postby Chevytraveller » Sat Jan 15, 2011 1:10 pm

Sounds like the output stage capacitors may have dried out.. might be worth replacing them

:bouncy:
User avatar
Chevytraveller
Frequent Poster
Posts: 849
Joined: Fri May 12, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: Hastings

Soft: MBP 15", X-Station, LogicX, Mainstage 3, Korg legacy, Diva, Alchemy,

Hard: Emulator II, E-Synth, Roland Promars, Obie TVS-1, Waldorf Q, AS Vostok, AS Telemark, AS Leipzig-S.. Eurocrack disease


Re: Microwave 2 low output?

Postby ddbs » Sat Jan 15, 2011 3:48 pm

Thanks for the info, Chevytraveller. Hopefully I'll find someone
in the area who can do that job for me. I'm pretty useless with
the soldering iron.
ddbs
Poster
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 11:00 pm

Re: Microwave 2 low output?

Postby ddbs » Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:02 pm

well, tried the recapping route- didn't help. still low output.
has anyone else experienced this with their mw2??
ddbs
Poster
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 11:00 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests