You are here

Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

For fans of synths, pianos or keyboard instruments of any sort.

Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Richie Royale » Tue Oct 11, 2011 11:52 am

Just wondering. I've not used my Monotron much, but partly this is because you can't really play it and as it was a gift from the missus, I don't want to break by trying to add CV to it. The Monotribe looks like it will be more fun, but it's not quite as cheap, so more of a considered purchase.
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Richie Royale » Wed Oct 12, 2011 11:43 am

I take it that is a no then!

Analogue isn't the next big thing then?
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Sam Inglis » Wed Oct 12, 2011 12:09 pm

Well, I can say that the one we had at the SOS office has been absolutely caned. I don't think I've ever known another piece of gear that has been so well used!
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1933
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 12:00 am

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Richie Royale » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:14 pm

Thanks Sam. I'm still likely to get one. Is it as noisy as the Monotron?
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby The Korff » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:24 pm

I don't think we got to directly compare the two, but the Monotribe has a proper line out, as well as the headphone output (the 'Tron' only had headphone out), and I'm pretty sure that's quieter.

It kept us entertained for countless hours! They're incredibly fun things. My only real gripe with it is that the filter only passes audio when you hold a note down, so you can't really use the filter to process external sounds without some synth sound creeping in too. But since you've got a Monotron, you can do that already.

Cheers!

Chris
The Korff
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1736
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 11:28 am
Location: The Wrong Precinct

I AM KORFF


Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Sam Inglis » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:24 pm

Noisy in what sense?
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1933
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 12:00 am

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Richie Royale » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:36 pm

Just the background noise. The Monotron has a fairly audible hiss when plugged in, but it's not a huge issue. As Korff has mentioned, the Monotribe is better equipped to be plugged into a system, so I guess it has a better S/N ratio.
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Sam Inglis » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:47 pm

The MS20 was never the quietest synth in the world, maybe it comes with the territory...
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1933
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 12:00 am

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Chevytraveller » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:51 pm

That's not noise.. it's character
User avatar
Chevytraveller
Frequent Poster
Posts: 847
Joined: Fri May 12, 2000 11:00 pm
Location: Hastings

Soft: MBP 15", X-Station, LogicX, Mainstage 3, Korg legacy, Diva, Alchemy,


Hard: Emulator II, E-Synth, Roland Promars, Obie TVS-1, Waldorf Q, AS Vostok, AS Telemark, AS Leipzig-S.. Eurocrack disease


Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Richie Royale » Wed Oct 12, 2011 1:57 pm



My productions are a noisy mess anyway.
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby johnny h » Thu Oct 13, 2011 12:46 am

Haven't played with it much yet but it seems very good .. heard a lot of positive things about it
johnny h
Frequent Poster
Posts: 3182
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2006 11:00 pm

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Richie Royale » Thu Oct 13, 2011 11:52 am

Good review here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yMX-T5Nx4is

The DAW sync tip makes it even more desirable!
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby David Glasper » Thu Oct 13, 2011 1:25 pm

Good review here too: http://www.soundonsound.com/sos/jul11/a ... otribe.htm

Easily one of the best things we've ever had through the office. Reminds me why I got into synthesisers in the first place. Now here's hoping they do an analogue drum machine next year...
David Glasper
Poster
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Sep 05, 2002 11:00 pm
Location: SOS HQ

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby vinyl_junkie » Thu Oct 13, 2011 6:40 pm

Monotribe is a funny one, they forgot to put a MIDI connector on it yet it has the IC making it capable for MIDI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=annotation_297382&feature=iv&src_vid=vhlE_gcvof8&v=G9N7JE6u82w
vinyl_junkie
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1584
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Martin Walker » Fri Oct 14, 2011 9:34 am

Yep - I've watched that video as well. It's obviously a marketing decision by Korg to leave the MIDI connection off rather than something that was decided at the design stage


Martin
User avatar
Martin Walker
Moderator
Posts: 9835
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:44 am
Location: Cornwall, UK

Steampunk & Synth News | Mad Scientist Mode


Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby forumuser695516 » Fri Oct 14, 2011 12:22 pm

From what i've read, what midi support is lurking in there, is a bit half arsed anyway. I expect it would have needed better innards to support it properly which would have bumped up the cost.
Still, it will be fun for the modders. Im in 2 minds about getting one myself.. I have a truck load of mono synths already! And other musical bits & pieces with wires and circuit boards hanging out of them.
For me the Monotribe would almost definitely have to be modded anyway, even if only to minimise that VCA click which would drive me mad..
I think it's pretty cool that Korg is brave enough to make some analogue stuff again though! I hope they take it further..
forumuser695516
Frequent Poster
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 11:00 pm

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby vinyl_junkie » Fri Oct 14, 2011 1:14 pm

~Paul wrote:
I think it's pretty cool that Korg is brave enough to make some analogue stuff again though! I hope they take it further..


Absolutely... They need to make modern versions of these to get my attention though heheh
Not complete clones but something that sounded as nice/unique and as hands on...

Image

Image

Image

Image
vinyl_junkie
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1584
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby nathanscribe » Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:34 pm

I dabbled with a Monotribe in a shop recently and thought it was pretty cool - particuarly great for those making loop-based stuff I think - but for me, it's not quite there. I've said elsewhere that if they put a short keyboard on (real keys, that is) and a few more knobs for full control over the ocs/filter/envelopes etc., I'd be all over one. I can picture something like the original Bass Station (2-oct 'board, small but comprehensive control panel) but maybe with mini-keys like the Microkorg et al.

A modern MS-10 for less than £250? Maybe, maybe not. I'd like to see it though.
User avatar
nathanscribe
Frequent Poster
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri Jan 19, 2007 12:00 am
Location: Wakefield, for my sins.

I have no idea what I'm doing.


Re: Anyone got a Monotribe yet?

Postby Richie Royale » Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:03 pm

nathanscribe wrote:I dabbled with a Monotribe in a shop recently and thought it was pretty cool - particuarly great for those making loop-based stuff I think - but for me, it's not quite there. I've said elsewhere that if they put a short keyboard on (real keys, that is) and a few more knobs for full control over the ocs/filter/envelopes etc., I'd be all over one. I can picture something like the original Bass Station (2-oct 'board, small but comprehensive control panel) but maybe with mini-keys like the Microkorg et al.

A modern MS-10 for less than £250? Maybe, maybe not. I'd like to see it though.

Maybe they'll follow it up with something bigger again? The price will jump though I expect if they did put MIDI and more controls on it.
User avatar
Richie Royale
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4441
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:00 pm
Location: Bristol, England.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests