You are here

Project: monitor controller

Customising, building or repairing your own gear? Need help with acoustic treatment or soundproofing? Ask away…

Project: monitor controller

Postby Frank Eleveld » Thu Apr 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Due to the apparent current interest in monitor controllers, I thought it would be nice to start outlining my plans for building a passive monitor controller here.

Mind that I'm occupied with a lot of other things at the moment and it could easily be a few months before I can actually start building a prototype, but this has the advantage readers can give their input as well - although I've read a lot on the subject lately, it doesn't mean I'm an expert on this.

Prelude
Most of the audio work I get to do here at home involves using my DAW system (currently Pro Tools LE/Logic Express on a G4 using a Digidesign Audio Media III card, though there are plans to upgrade the hardware and get a better, more versatile interface). I use a Spirit Folio mixer for monitoring, but it isn't very flexible in the routing department, and its sound quality is nothing to write home about.

A while ago, I started looking at units like the Mackie Big Knob and the Presonus Central Station, but found that especially the first unit received many negative comments from users who thought it cluttered the sound too much. The Presonus did better in this respect, but many American studio owners pointed at Coleman Audio monitor controllers and praised them for their sonic qualities. However, these units are not exactly cheap: prices start from USD 700-800 upwards, and I'm talking street prices here. RRPs are actually starting beyond USD 1,100.