You are here

Amp cleaning

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Amp cleaning

Postby christianmurphy » Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:32 am

How often do you check your amps and give them a clean?

Recently bought a couple of second hand amps, and considering opening it up to check the dust situation and give them a clean. What's the best way to do it? Compressed air duster?

Christian.
User avatar
christianmurphy
Regular
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:00 am

 


Re: Amp cleaning

Postby christianmurphy » Tue Oct 18, 2011 1:57 pm

Kind of a little pointless now, just took my two QSCs apart and they were pretty much spotless inside. Bit of dust on the bottom covers, wiped it off and they look brand new inside.

Still any replies welcome for future reference :D
User avatar
christianmurphy
Regular
Posts: 258
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:00 am

 


Re: Amp cleaning

Postby seablade » Tue Oct 18, 2011 2:41 pm

christianmurphy wrote:Kind of a little pointless now, just took my two QSCs apart and they were pretty much spotless inside. Bit of dust on the bottom covers, wiped it off and they look brand new inside.

Still any replies welcome for future reference :D

Best way depends on the amp, some amps you could remove the filters and carefully wash them clean, some you can't in which case using a compressed air canister to blow air out of the amp(Not into the amp) can work. I tend to do this more as a visual thing, you can see dust on filters and depending on how dirty it is will determine on whether I clean it or not. If they have been sitting for a while not being used I will tend to clean it out before using it of course.

Seablade
seablade
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1160
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 12:00 am

Re: Amp cleaning

Postby Raphbass » Tue Oct 18, 2011 5:46 pm

I have an old Amcron Geodyne1 that I've had for nearly 20 years and cleaned it out a couple of times, taking top and bottom covers off and using compressed air, and I've taken out and washed a foam filter on the front panel.

I slightly worry about "disturbing" dust into bits that are perfectly ok - eg the fan still works totally smoothly and I'd hate to blow dust onto the spindle - with that in mind I try to blow dust away from the motor, but I suppose if it's lasted this long it's probably fairly well protected.
Raphbass
Regular
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 12:00 am

Re: Amp cleaning

Postby TSH-Tim » Tue Oct 18, 2011 6:18 pm

I try my best to give all our amps a good blow out via a air comp once a month but am sure they dont need that lol ..... I friend of mine owns some of my old LAB4000's which have a filter on the front that you can quickly take off to clean them. His are sooo bad you can pull the dust out the front lol yet they still work
TSH-Tim
Frequent Poster
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Amp cleaning

Postby Falconhell » Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:33 pm

Personally, I do not blow out dust from electronic devices, as often the dust is forced into connectors, sockets and pots etc (Well that what we were told at technician school anyway) A much better approach is to use a soft brush and vaccuum cleaner to remove any detrious form your devices.
Falconhell
Regular
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Amp cleaning

Postby TSH-Tim » Wed Oct 19, 2011 8:00 pm

Umm not sure about that :? but i can see what your saying... I've always just blown amps out with the odd bit of cleaning with a brush if its needed
TSH-Tim
Frequent Poster
Posts: 660
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:00 am


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests