You are here

Moving from studio to live audio, need advice.

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Moving from studio to live audio, need advice.

Postby Hexo » Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:03 pm

Hello all.

I'm currently working with a set of devices connected to my amd phenomII x6 pc, including protools hd native card digi linked to lynx aurora8, ssl x patch,sonar x1 and more. I'm about to replace them with ssl mx4 and alphalink.
1. Is it a good crossgrade you think?
2. Is it a good idea to use the new set for live applications(mostly a pop concert)?

All comments are welcome. Please also tell me to narrow my question if i'm talking so wide.
User avatar
Hexo
Regular
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Iran

subjective sounds in any mind deserve to exist. +1 to production.


Re: Moving from studio to live audio, need advice.

Postby Jude May » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:20 am

Are you planning to use the gear for mixing gigs or recording them?
If the answer is mixing them, then no. No it is not a good idea
Jude May
Poster
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Moving from studio to live audio, need advice.

Postby Hexo » Mon Feb 27, 2012 6:11 pm

Both! What about the dedicated software controlled mixer on mx4?
User avatar
Hexo
Regular
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Iran

subjective sounds in any mind deserve to exist. +1 to production.


Re: Moving from studio to live audio, need advice.

Postby Jude May » Tue Feb 28, 2012 7:23 am

In all honesty, i would not recomend trying to mix a show using a DAW and/or sound card. any time a computer is running audio live you will want a back up, especially when recording. Even more so if you are mixing. soooooo, use a mixer for mixing.

belive me, it will save you so many headaches in the long run.
Jude May
Poster
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2011 12:00 am

Re: Moving from studio to live audio, need advice.

Postby Hexo » Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:51 am

And what if I use a mixer for mixing and then using a daw for recording the same live tracks?
User avatar
Hexo
Regular
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Iran

subjective sounds in any mind deserve to exist. +1 to production.


Re: Moving from studio to live audio, need advice.

Postby The Red Bladder » Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:05 am

1. Yes.

2. Yes.

Hexagon wrote:And what if I use a mixer for mixing and then using a daw for recording the same live tracks?

An engineer who used to work for us, now mixes and records live bands, using an Alphalink and Reaper. He also uses a live desk for the pre-amps and monitor feeds to the stage etc., but the mixes are all done in the box, so to speak.

Once you have got a system going, it's really easy (he tells me!) and you have a far more sophisticated sound on stage.
The Red Bladder
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1846
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:00 pm
Location: . . .

 


Re: Moving from studio to live audio, need advice.

Postby Hexo » Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:59 pm

Good call! But there are more questions around this topic. I'll be back soon.
User avatar
Hexo
Regular
Posts: 197
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Iran

subjective sounds in any mind deserve to exist. +1 to production.



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest