You are here

Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

Postby One Horse Town » Fri Feb 22, 2013 7:53 pm

I can see the advantage of not having power-strips on the floor but are these rack mount units worth the money? I've also read comments saying that in the uk it's rare to encounter the 'spikes' that manufacturers would have us all in fear of - true or false? Any thoughts?
One Horse Town
Regular
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:00 pm

 


Re: Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

Postby Mike Stranks » Fri Feb 22, 2013 8:01 pm

From the way you've written, I'm assuming you're in the UK... if nor ignore what follows!

Simply put: you don't need power conditioners in the UK unless you're running off some dodgy generator or something like that.

But a rack-mounted distribution system (excluding the conditioner) can offer a tidier semi-permanent means of distributing mains to rack-mounted gear. That said, there are several here who have fastened a decent "floor-board" into the back of their rack using cable-ties or some other means. Certainly cheaper and meets exactly the same need.
User avatar
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4333
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Cirencester, UK

 


Re: Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

Postby TheChorltonWheelie » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:02 am

One Horse Town wrote:I can see the advantage of not having power-strips on the floor but are these rack mount units worth the money? I've also read comments saying that in the uk it's rare to encounter the 'spikes' that manufacturers would have us all in fear of - true or false? Any thoughts?

As a PDU, the rack-mounted strips are very useful, but for protecting you against brown-outs and spikes, no, they're uncommon enough for you not to worry about.

However, I run a UPS in my rack, albeit quite a small one, and that does protect me from people pulling the power out (which does happen regularly), or if the circuit trips on stage due to over-load (which definitely happens once or twice a year). My UPS gives me 2-3 minutes, which is enough for the power to come back on, or enough for me to safely turn the kit off.

I put a fused IEC chassis in my flight case, that's wired to the UPS, and then in turn the UPS runs 2 * PDU's (into which all of the rack kit is connected). I also have a IEC chassis in the flight case that can run external items, i.e. a gang socket, and that powers my laptop and keyboard rig too.

The whole setup was about £150, including the UPS and IEC chassis', and to be honest it has been worth every penny. Whilst the UK doesn't have power surges like most countries, every stage/club/venue has an idiot that'll pull out/trip over the power socket! :-)
TheChorltonWheelie
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1035
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:00 pm

Re: Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

Postby DGL. » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:34 am

also if you own a digital mixer the advice from ALL manufacturers is get a UPS.
Digital mixers don't generally handle any kind of power faults too well.
DGL.
Frequent Poster
Posts: 611
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:00 pm
Location: Portland, Dorset

Re: Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

Postby chris... » Sat Feb 23, 2013 1:46 pm

My 01V happily comes back up to exactly where it was
User avatar
chris...
Frequent Poster
Posts: 2708
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Sunny Glasgow

Re: Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sat Feb 23, 2013 2:04 pm

But only after an embarrassingly long silence, and a few loud pops and bangs!
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 17092
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Worcestershire, UK

Technical Editor, Sound On Sound


Re: Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

Postby Exalted Wombat » Sat Feb 23, 2013 3:10 pm

Hugh Robjohns wrote:But only after an embarrassingly long silence, and a few loud pops and bangs!

It's only a computer of course. How often does yours reset due to a power glitch? That's how much you need a UPS. (And a power conditioner isn't a UPS.)
Exalted Wombat
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5652
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 12:00 am
Location: London UK

You don't have to write songs. The world doesn't want you to write songs. It would probably prefer it if you didn't. So write songs if you want to. Otherwise, dont. Go fishing instead.


Re: Rackmount Power Conditioners - are they worth it?

Postby One Horse Town » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:13 pm

Chotlton Wheelie

"I put a fused IEC chassis in my flight case, that's wired to the UPS, and then in turn the UPS runs 2 * PDU's (into which all of the rack kit is connected). I also have a IEC chassis in the flight case that can run external items, i.e. a gang socket, and that powers my laptop and keyboard rig too."

Can you recommend a specific UPS and IEC chassis? My knowledge of electrical stuff is limited. One other thing - my gear is as follows: Yamaha dsr118 sub - 2xdsr112 tops - stage piano+3modules and effects. Total wattage is approx 450 watts - some ups units I've looked at only quote 260 watts output. As I said I'm not an expert on this stuff so can someone put me right?
Thanks for your original comment.
One Horse Town
Regular
Posts: 235
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:00 pm

 



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest