You are here

And the winners are…

Results of 2013 SOS Awards announced

SOS awardSOS 2013 awardIt’s that time of year again - Winter NAMM is kicking off in Anaheim, California and everyone is focusing on all the brand new gear being released. But here at Sound On Sound we also like to take this opportunity to celebrate the products that have brought our readers the most joy over the last year.

We’ve received an overwhelming number of votes and we are proud to present the third annual SOS Awards, as voted for by you across 16 categories.

This year’s winners are:

Audio Interface: Universal Audio Apollo

DAW Software: Avid Pro Tools

Effects and Processing hardware: Universal Audio LA2A

Plug-in Effects: Sound Toys Native Effects

Plug-in Processor: Izotope Ozone

Hardware Controller: Apple iPad

Keyboard/Synth: Access Virus TI

Microphone: Neumann U87ai

Mixer: SSL Duality

Monitors: Genelec 8240A DSP

Hardware Recorder: Zoom R24

Mic Preamp: Neve 1073DP

Software Instruments: Native Instruments Reaktor

Sound Library: Native Instruments Abbey Road Drums series

Headphones: Sennheiser HD800

Live Sound: Allen & Heath GLD series

That leaves only the Editors’ Choice award, which is selected by the editorial team at Sound On Sound. This year the accolade goes to Slate Digital’s Virtual Tape Machines plug-in for its unrivalled modelling of magnetic tape within the digital domain.

The winner of the studio package prize draw will be announced in the near future.

Also in the news