You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link

    Sounding Off

    John Walden has his say!

    In defence of the iPad.

    People Jun 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month featuring 'Pompeii' by Bastille, 'Let It Go' by Idina Menzel, 'Strong' by London Grammar and the most classic of classic tracks from 1971, Led Zeppelin's 'Stairway To Heaven'.

    People Jun 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month albums from Ad Asteris, Glass Ankle, Pierre Shlimon, Marvin B Naylor, The Evolutionaries, Kenwood Anderson and As Follows.

    People Jun 2014
  • link

    The TouchKeys Project

    DIY Retro-fit Touch-Sensitivity System

    We investigate an experimental system that promises to retrospectively add Yamaha CS80-style expression control to any keyboard.

    People Jun 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    A Dark Future

    Leader

    When computers first came on the scene, many musicians were scared away by the apparent complexity and retreated to their cassette Portastudios.

    People Jun 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we discuss tracks from Disclosure, Naughty Boy, Tom Odell and our Classic Mix is Bonnie Raitt's 'I Can't Make You Love Me' from 1991.    

    People May 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month we review to music from Gertrude,Tycho, Richard Pinhas, Daniel Trigger, Contemporary Dead Finnish Music Ensemble, Andrew Maxwell Morris, Michael Lee and Rebecca Shearing. 

    People May 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off

    In many ways, there has never been a bigger or better time for dance music.

    Want to be a superstar DJ? Join the queue.

    People May 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Offering A Helping Hand

    Leader

    I'm writing this column in February, and here in the UK, half the country seems to be flooded — so terms like 'SOS' and 'Rescue' have taken on a far more serious connotation.

    People May 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Where Now?

    Leader

    If you've read up on what was shown at NAMM earlier this year, you might wonder where there is for the industry to go next.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month's tracks from Miley Cyrus, One Republic, Black Sabbath and our Classic Mix - ZZ Top "Gimme All Your Lovin'' from 1983.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month we review to music from Young Peculiar, The Situation, Vincent Pierce Smith & Karttikeya, Mark Barnwell and Christian Gregory.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off

    Did the iPad kill the dinosaur?

    SOS reader Paul Wavell discribes his journey through the history of Apple computers from the Lisa to iPad.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' Tracks

    This month we comment on releases from Testing Tomorrow, Clemistry & Audnoyz and Emiliano Cannavò.

    People Mar 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off: The ‘Perfect Workflow’?

    Tristan O'Dwyer

    The creative process is about serendipity, spontaneity, accident and chance. It’s about defying convention, standards and the dreaded ‘best practice’.

    People Mar 2014
  • link

    Hits & Misses

    Leader

    I'm writing this column in January just before setting off for the NAMM show in California, which is perhaps the highlight of...

    People Mar 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month tracks from Jason Derulo, Martin Garrix, Eminem and our Classic Mix: The Beatles' Yesterday from 1965.

    People Mar 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    War Is Over!

    Leader

    Ask pretty much any musician planning to make a record what mastering is all about and they'll probably include 'making it sound loud' as one of the more important mastering tasks.

    People Feb 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month we comment on releases from Seth Lakeman and The Cuckoo Clocks

    People Feb 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off: Dave Stewart

    Management Speak Is Taking Over!

    Management speak is taking over the world.

    People Feb 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we analyse hits from Storm Queen, The Reflektors and Lorde plus our classic mix 'Roxanne' by the The Police. 

    People Feb 2014

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion