You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link

    Why I Love... Mountains

    TG LaFredo

    Almost no cell service reaches my home studio. People come here to record, and within moments of arrival, they inform me that they have zero bars... Then a wonderful thing happens: they put away their phones and we get to work.

    People Mar 2020
  • link

    The Mix Review: March 2020

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    To help you brush up on your listening skills, we examine the production of some recent hits by Dua Lipa, Tones And I, Caroline Shaw/Attacca Quartet, Arizona Zerva and a Destiny's Child classic mix.

    People Mar 2020
  • link
    Zoc8CnVpVgU.jpg

    Microphones: Designing The Future

    Video Feature

    The designers behind some of today's most innovative studio microphones tell us what we can expect from the mics of tomorrow.

    Sound Advice Mar 2020
  • link
    SOS December 2019 social channel header

    Reader Survey 2020

    SOS Wants Your Feedback!

    Our dedicated team produces Sound On Sound magazine and website each month for you, our fabulous Readers, so help shape the future of what we do by completing this survey.

    People Mar 2020
  • link
    SOS December 2019 social channel header

    SOS 2020 Reader Survey

    Help to shape SOS content

    The 31 March deadline is looming, so hurry and complete our survey, and help shape the future content and direction of your favourite audio recording technology resource.

    News
  • link
    Paul White in his studio, 2017.

    Nothing But The Truth

    Leader

    Most of the time we're on the lookout for plug-ins, pedals and processors that help us create interesting sounds —...

    People Feb 2020
  • link

    The Mix Review | February 2020

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    To help you brush up on your listening skills, we examine the production of recent hits by Selena Gomez, Travis Scott, Maroon 5 plus a classic mix from Roxette.

    People Feb 2020
  • link

    Why I Love... My Car

    Chris Korff

    For all the headaches it's caused my mechanic, my car has been of huge value to my musical life. My mobile disco lets me indulge my guiltiest musical pleasures without fear of judgement...

    People Feb 2020
  • link
    Paul White in his studio, 2017.

    Are Loops Cheating?

    Leader

    Many of us use rhythm loops in our compositions, but at what stage does relying on them become cheating?

    People Jan 2020
  • link

    Why I Love... Collecting Gear

    Simon Horrocks

    My name is Simon and I have Gear Acquisition Syndrome....

    People Jan 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion