You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link
    Dan Daley

    Off The Record

    Music & Recording Industry News

    Hollywood looks like it may be on shaky ground, but it’s not all bad news for audio post houses.

    Music Business Jul 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Tom Flint

    When Does Technology Make Things Too Easy?

    When a whole composition can be pieced together in a matter of minutes using tempo-sync’ed samples and a bunch of exciting effects and drum loops, it makes learning to play an instrument seem like a endless trudge...

    People Jul 2015
  • link
    Paul White

    The Long Game

    Leader

    Guitar synthesizers have been around since the mid-1970s but have never really captured the imaginations of the majority of guitar players.

    People Jul 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Snare Conundrum

    Leader

    After last month’s Leader column outlining the difference between products we’re asked to buy and products we actually need, I realised I’d missed out the really big one.

    People Jun 2015
  • link

    Notes From The Deadline

    TV Music From The Inside

    The ability to take criticism is a vital skill for the media composer. The ability to make sense of it is much harder to learn.

    Music Business Jun 2015
  • link
    Dan Daley

    Off The Record

    Music & Recording Industry News

    The long tradition of ‘testing’ songs out on the public has found an unlikely new home...

    Music Business Jun 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month tracks from Kendrick Lamar, Roseanne Cash, Rihanna, Kanye West & Paul McCartney, Chick Corea and our Classic Mix - Miles Davis, 'So What'.

    People Jun 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Martin Koszolko

    Remote Music Collaboration

    The tyranny of distance is real, and many musicians want to overcome it.

    People Jun 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    If It Ain’t Broke

    Leader

    When it comes to new audio gear, I tend to split products into ‘things they try to sell us’ and ‘things we really need'.

    People May 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Tracks Analysed

    This month tracks from Jack White, Angelique Kidjo, Paramore and our Classic Mix: I Heard It Through The Grapevine.

    People May 2015
  • link

    Notes From The Deadline

    TV Music From The Inside

    Music for the media isn’t rocket science. It’s far more important than that.

    Music Business May 2015
  • link
    Dan Daley

    Off The Record

    Music & Recording Industry News

    What does net neutrality mean for studios?

    Music Business May 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Matt Houghton

    Obsolescence By Design Is Madness!

    Matt Houghton recollects the good old days.

    People May 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Go Your Own Way

    Leader

    The world is full of questions, ranging from the really big ones, such as ‘Is life really just software running on a computer made of meat?

    People Apr 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Tracks Analysed

    We examine the production of some recent hits to help you brush up on your listening skills.

    André Rieu, J.Cole, Band Aid 30, St.Vincent, Erica Campbell. This month's Classic Mix - Bridge Over Troubled Water.

    People Apr 2015
  • link

    Notes From The Deadline

    TV Music From The Inside

    Opportunities to spread your creative wings can arise in the most unlikely jobs.

    Music Business Apr 2015
  • link
    Dan Daley

    Off The Record

    Music & Recording Industry News

    Plenty of industries use tax incentives to lure customers, but will it work for music production?

    Music Business Apr 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Is Online Collaboration A Good Idea?

    Mark Wherry

    Mark Wherry discusses the point.

    People Apr 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    New Tricks

    Leader

    Recently, I’ve been adapting my studio to create enough space to make videos, with a view to covering review products and recording techniques.

    People Mar 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we examine some recent hits by Pentatonix, Ed Sheeran, Pink Floyd and Mark Ronson. Plus our Classic Mix, Survivor's Eye Of The Tiger.

    People Mar 2015
  • link

    Notes From The Deadline

    TV Music From The Inside

    Surrendering control of your music is never easy, but supplying stems creates myriad new opportunities for disaster.

    Music Business Mar 2015

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion