You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link
    Playback: Gish artwork.

    Playback

    Reader's music reviewed.

    This month's artitsts: Gish, Michael Egan, Rough Citizen, Give Her The Gun, Crumbs For Comfort, Laetoli Steps, Zeni Danussi and Mike King.

    People Dec 2012
  • link

    Sounding Off: David Glasper

    The computer is no more than a passing fad.

    The computer is no more than a passing fad.

    People Dec 2012
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month: Newton Faulkner, Paloma Faith, Nicki Minaj, Coldplay and Rita Ora.

    People Dec 2012
  • link

    How To Become A Pro Live Sound Engineer

    Sex, Lies & Gaffer Tape

    Live-sound employment is now more competitive than ever, so how can you stand out from the crowd? We asked some of the leading teachers and employers in the industry for their advice.

    People Nov 2012
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Keeping It Simple

    Leader

    Looking back over some very old leader columns, I came across some of my comments and suggestions for making aspects of music technology more friendly.

    People Nov 2012
  • link

    Notes From The Deadline

    TV Music From The Inside

    The viewing public never get to see — or hear — the messy side of TV production. But that’s where the fun is.

    Music Business Nov 2012
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' Music Reviewed

    This month we review: Lois, LTS, Three Little Words, The Paul Hegley Band, Sea Stacks and Jabi Shriki

    People Nov 2012
  • link

    Sounding Off

    When does a favour become a chore?

    Barrington Haynes asks the question.

    People Nov 2012
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month's tracks are from Madonna, Justin Bieber, Elbow, Maroon 5 and Flo Rida.

    People Nov 2012
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Blinded By Nostalgia?

    Leader

    Editor In Chief, Paul White questions vintage gear plug-ins.

    People Oct 2012
  • link

    Notes From The Deadline

    TV Music From The Inside

    When TV composers talk about archiving, they usually mean backing up their hard drives.

    Music Business Oct 2012
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' Music Reviewed

    Milk-Plus, Animation, The Badje, Caution Horses, Damien Calcagne, Jack Jeffery, Black Storm, Matteo Bosi.

    People Oct 2012
  • link

    Sounding Off

    Producer / Orchestrator Onno Krijn asks the question.

    Need more space? Lose the cymbals!

    People Oct 2012
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    We examine the production of some recent releases from Paul McCartney, The Maccabees and Fun.

    People Oct 2012
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Remote Control

    Paul White's Leader

    I don't get the point of telephone text messages, I really don't! Come on guys, speech transmission was established as a...

    People Sep 2012
  • link

    Notes FromThe Deadline

    TV Music From The Inside

    Most of the time, TV composers are happy if anyone notices their music. It’s when people start to like it that the trouble starts.

    Music Business Sep 2012
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' Music Reviewed

    Dave Gerard & The Watchmen, Knive Eight, A Glance Beyond Nature, Seed, Adam Dawson, My Name Is Earl, Dream Baby Dream.

    People Sep 2012
  • link

    Sounding Off: How Many Hats Can One Person Wear?

    Matt Houghton

    Whether you're the one producing the music or are simply listening for pleasure, the music itself must always be an emotional experience — because if it isn't, what's the point?

    People Sep 2012
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    We examine the production of some recent hit records by Flo Rida, Kelly Clarkson abd Michael Kiwanuka.

    People Sep 2012
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Too Much Of A Good Thing

    Leader

    While the term 'first do no harm' may embody the spirit of the Hippocratic Oath, the phrase itself is apparently absent from...

    People Aug 2012
  • link

    Notes From The Deadline

    TV Music From The Inside

    Can’t find what you want in a music library? No problem. Just hire a composer to write it for nothing!

    Music Business Aug 2012

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion