You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we're listening to Coldplay, Sam Smith, Paolo Nutini and our Classic Mix is Elvis Presley 'Hound Dog' from 1956.

    People Aug 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off

    Games music needs to be bolder...

    People Aug 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Smoke & Mirrors?

    Leader

    If you're in the habit of reading hi-fi magazines, you may have noticed a number of products based on what one might call '...

    People Jul 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month Pharrell Williams Happy, DJ Snake Turn Down For What, John Legend's All Of Me and the Classic Mix - Dire Straits Money For Nothing.   

    People Jul 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Zipperfish

    Punk By Numbers

    No matter how weird, obscure or downright distasteful your...

    People Jul 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off

    Reader Michael Begg asks the question

    What keeps us upgrading? Anxiety.

    People Jul 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off

    John Walden has his say!

    In defence of the iPad.

    People Jun 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month featuring 'Pompeii' by Bastille, 'Let It Go' by Idina Menzel, 'Strong' by London Grammar and the most classic of classic tracks from 1971, Led Zeppelin's 'Stairway To Heaven'.

    People Jun 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month albums from Ad Asteris, Glass Ankle, Pierre Shlimon, Marvin B Naylor, The Evolutionaries, Kenwood Anderson and As Follows.

    People Jun 2014
  • link

    The TouchKeys Project

    DIY Retro-fit Touch-Sensitivity System

    We investigate an experimental system that promises to retrospectively add Yamaha CS80-style expression control to any keyboard.

    People Jun 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    A Dark Future

    Leader

    When computers first came on the scene, many musicians were scared away by the apparent complexity and retreated to their cassette Portastudios.

    People Jun 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we discuss tracks from Disclosure, Naughty Boy, Tom Odell and our Classic Mix is Bonnie Raitt's 'I Can't Make You Love Me' from 1991.    

    People May 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month we review to music from Gertrude,Tycho, Richard Pinhas, Daniel Trigger, Contemporary Dead Finnish Music Ensemble, Andrew Maxwell Morris, Michael Lee and Rebecca Shearing. 

    People May 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off

    In many ways, there has never been a bigger or better time for dance music.

    Want to be a superstar DJ? Join the queue.

    People May 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Offering A Helping Hand

    Leader

    I'm writing this column in February, and here in the UK, half the country seems to be flooded — so terms like 'SOS' and 'Rescue' have taken on a far more serious connotation.

    People May 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Where Now?

    Leader

    If you've read up on what was shown at NAMM earlier this year, you might wonder where there is for the industry to go next.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month's tracks from Miley Cyrus, One Republic, Black Sabbath and our Classic Mix - ZZ Top "Gimme All Your Lovin'' from 1983.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month we review to music from Young Peculiar, The Situation, Vincent Pierce Smith & Karttikeya, Mark Barnwell and Christian Gregory.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off

    Did the iPad kill the dinosaur?

    SOS reader Paul Wavell discribes his journey through the history of Apple computers from the Lisa to iPad.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' Tracks

    This month we comment on releases from Testing Tomorrow, Clemistry & Audnoyz and Emiliano Cannavò.

    People Mar 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off: The ‘Perfect Workflow’?

    Tristan O'Dwyer

    The creative process is about serendipity, spontaneity, accident and chance. It’s about defying convention, standards and the dreaded ‘best practice’.

    People Mar 2014

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion