You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link

    Sounding Off

    In many ways, there has never been a bigger or better time for dance music.

    Want to be a superstar DJ? Join the queue.

    People May 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Offering A Helping Hand

    Leader

    I'm writing this column in February, and here in the UK, half the country seems to be flooded — so terms like 'SOS' and 'Rescue' have taken on a far more serious connotation.

    People May 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Where Now?

    Leader

    If you've read up on what was shown at NAMM earlier this year, you might wonder where there is for the industry to go next.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month's tracks from Miley Cyrus, One Republic, Black Sabbath and our Classic Mix - ZZ Top "Gimme All Your Lovin'' from 1983.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month we review to music from Young Peculiar, The Situation, Vincent Pierce Smith & Karttikeya, Mark Barnwell and Christian Gregory.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off

    Did the iPad kill the dinosaur?

    SOS reader Paul Wavell discribes his journey through the history of Apple computers from the Lisa to iPad.

    People Apr 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' Tracks

    This month we comment on releases from Testing Tomorrow, Clemistry & Audnoyz and Emiliano Cannavò.

    People Mar 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off: The ‘Perfect Workflow’?

    Tristan O'Dwyer

    The creative process is about serendipity, spontaneity, accident and chance. It’s about defying convention, standards and the dreaded ‘best practice’.

    People Mar 2014
  • link

    Hits & Misses

    Leader

    I'm writing this column in January just before setting off for the NAMM show in California, which is perhaps the highlight of...

    People Mar 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month tracks from Jason Derulo, Martin Garrix, Eminem and our Classic Mix: The Beatles' Yesterday from 1965.

    People Mar 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    War Is Over!

    Leader

    Ask pretty much any musician planning to make a record what mastering is all about and they'll probably include 'making it sound loud' as one of the more important mastering tasks.

    People Feb 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month we comment on releases from Seth Lakeman and The Cuckoo Clocks

    People Feb 2014
  • link

    Sounding Off: Dave Stewart

    Management Speak Is Taking Over!

    Management speak is taking over the world.

    People Feb 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we analyse hits from Storm Queen, The Reflektors and Lorde plus our classic mix 'Roxanne' by the The Police. 

    People Feb 2014
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    The Mix Review in Sound On Sound This month we analyse hits from Biffy Clyro, Armin Van Buuren and Duke Dumont, and take a look back at a classic mix, Sinead O’Connor’s version of “Nothing Compares 2 U”, from 1990.

    People Jan 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Auxiliary Spend

    Leader

    I'm going to let you into a secret that could put our entire industry out of business ­— but trust me, that won't happen...

    People Jan 2014
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    Joe Matera, Obsidian Kingdom, The Flickers.

    People Jan 2014
  • link
    Tom Flint

    Sounding Off

    Have cheap delivery formats destroyed music's value?

    People Jan 2014
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    DAW Of A New Age

    Leader

    Back in the era of analogue tape and non-automated analogue mixers, you could walk into any studio and — other than perhaps trying to figure out the patchbay — start recording and mixing.

    People Dec 2013
  • link

    Sounding Off: Abandoning Skeuomorphism

    Tom Fleming

    Do Bakelite knobs have a place in the virtual world?

    People Dec 2013
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we analyse Bing Crosby's 1947 Christmas classic "White Christmas” as well as a number of contemporary commercial hit record productions.

    People Dec 2013

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion