You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link

    Sounding Off: Abandoning Skeuomorphism

    Tom Fleming

    Do Bakelite knobs have a place in the virtual world?

    People Dec 2013
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we analyse Bing Crosby's 1947 Christmas classic "White Christmas” as well as a number of contemporary commercial hit record productions.

    People Dec 2013
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' music reviewed

    This month our selection includes albums from Junkfoxx, Retrodog, Marcus Reeves, My Youth, Pete Thomas & The Horns A Plenty, The Wicked Whispers, Into The East and Adamrake.

    People Dec 2013
  • link

    Fifty Shades Of Grey

    Leader

    Is it just me or have today's software GUI designers been turned by the dark side?

    People Nov 2013
  • link

    Sounding Off: Paul Ward

    Time To Ditch Lossy Audio For Music Delivery?

    Is it about time we got rid of lossy audio formats for music delivery?

    People Nov 2013
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month Draft Punk, Steep Canyon Rangers, Justin Timberlake and Classic Mix album - Chris De Burgh's Lady In Red.

    People Nov 2013
  • link

    Playback

    Readers Music Reviewed

    This month we review work from David Youngs, Autocue, Daylight Fireworks, hanna*h*, Bernie, Peter Fitzpatrick and Rubyrough.

    People Nov 2013
  • link

    The Next Big Thing

    Leader

    Paul White discusses the importance of visionary engineering teams coming up with the next big thing.

    People Oct 2013
  • link

    Playback

    Readers music reviewed

    This month we comment on music from, Noatak, The Villeins, inFictions, AiO, Spiritual Wardrobe, Ollo, The Chaps, Freddy Frogs and Jens Steinmeyer

    People Oct 2013
  • link
    SOS Reviews Editor Chris Korff.

    Sounding Off: What's In A Name?

    Chris Korff

    What's in a name? A lot, according to some groundbreaking new research...

    People Oct 2013
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month, Kendrick Lamar, Rihanna, Kansas City Choral and the Classic Mix - Motorhead's Ace Of Spades.

    People Oct 2013
  • link

    Know Where Your Towel Is

    Leader

    I'm writing this just two days after mixing Malvern's West Fest outdoor festival on what must have been one of the hottest...

    People Sep 2013
  • link
    Playback: Teenage China artwork.

    Playback

    This months we comment on albums from Teenage China, 87PM, Christopher Libertino, The Emergency, Fingers & Thumbs, The Gluespots, Yoshiko Ohara and Marvin B Naylor.

    People Sep 2013
  • link
    Sounding Off: Rosina Ncube.

    Sounding Off: Why So Few Women In Audio?

    Rosina Ncube

    Why are there so few women in record production and sound engineering? An audio technology graduate offers her view.

    People Sep 2013
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we discuss Rudimental, Calvin Harris, Taylor Swift and our Classic mix track is 'If I Don't Care' by The Inkspots. 

    People Sep 2013
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Great Expectations

    Leader

    Some years ago, I wrote a leader aimed at anyone thinking of taking a music technology course with a view to getting some kind of industry job at the end of it.

    People Aug 2013
  • link
    Playback: 300ft Gorilla CD artwork.

    Playback

    Readers' Music Reviewed

    This month we feature 300ft Gorilla, The New Infection and The o8o8 Project.

    People Aug 2013
  • link
    Sounding Off: Richard Canavan.

    Sounding Off: How Much Is Enough?

    Richard Canavan

    When it comes down to being paid for your creativity, how much is enough?

    People Aug 2013
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month Mike listens hard to Ellie Goulding, Pink, Sam And The Womp, Katy Perry and the all time classic 'Hotel California' by the Eagles.

    People Aug 2013
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    When Less Is More

    Leader

    Editor In Chief, Paul White has some suggestions for 'cabling common sense' !

    People Jul 2013
  • link

    Playback

    Reader's Music Reviewed

    This month the SOS staff take a listen to Grip-Like Vice, Stus Rollins, Megan Hook & The Bright Forever, Darren Lock and Gerald Krampl.

    People Jul 2013

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion