You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link

    Sounding Off: Robin Bigwood

    Better gear always equals better recordings. Doesn’t it?

    Location sound recordist Robin Bigwood offers an insight.

    People Sep 2015
  • link
    Paul White

    Testing Testing

    Leader

    Paul White discusses the differences between what measures well on test equipment and what sounds good.

    People Aug 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month's selection include Ellie Goulding, Beck, The Book Thief soundtrack from John Williams, Jess Glynne and that all time classic mix, James Brown 'I Got You (I Feel Good)'.

    People Aug 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off

    RTFM. Please, RTFM!

    Joseph Dobson gives us an insight into a day in his technical support shoes!

    People Aug 2015
  • link

    Moses Schneider: Drums With Character

    Video Feature

    In this video interview we meet the so-called “Einstein of live recording” to talk production, drum processing and when (and when not) to quantise.

    People Aug 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Tom Flint

    When Does Technology Make Things Too Easy?

    When a whole composition can be pieced together in a matter of minutes using tempo-sync’ed samples and a bunch of exciting effects and drum loops, it makes learning to play an instrument seem like a endless trudge...

    People Jul 2015
  • link
    Paul White

    The Long Game

    Leader

    Guitar synthesizers have been around since the mid-1970s but have never really captured the imaginations of the majority of guitar players.

    People Jul 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Snare Conundrum

    Leader

    After last month’s Leader column outlining the difference between products we’re asked to buy and products we actually need, I realised I’d missed out the really big one.

    People Jun 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month tracks from Kendrick Lamar, Roseanne Cash, Rihanna, Kanye West & Paul McCartney, Chick Corea and our Classic Mix - Miles Davis, 'So What'.

    People Jun 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Martin Koszolko

    Remote Music Collaboration

    The tyranny of distance is real, and many musicians want to overcome it.

    People Jun 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    If It Ain’t Broke

    Leader

    When it comes to new audio gear, I tend to split products into ‘things they try to sell us’ and ‘things we really need'.

    People May 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Tracks Analysed

    This month tracks from Jack White, Angelique Kidjo, Paramore and our Classic Mix: I Heard It Through The Grapevine.

    People May 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Matt Houghton

    Obsolescence By Design Is Madness!

    Matt Houghton recollects the good old days.

    People May 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Go Your Own Way

    Leader

    The world is full of questions, ranging from the really big ones, such as ‘Is life really just software running on a computer made of meat?

    People Apr 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Tracks Analysed

    We examine the production of some recent hits to help you brush up on your listening skills.

    André Rieu, J.Cole, Band Aid 30, St.Vincent, Erica Campbell. This month's Classic Mix - Bridge Over Troubled Water.

    People Apr 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Is Online Collaboration A Good Idea?

    Mark Wherry

    Mark Wherry discusses the point.

    People Apr 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    New Tricks

    Leader

    Recently, I’ve been adapting my studio to create enough space to make videos, with a view to covering review products and recording techniques.

    People Mar 2015
  • link

    The Mix Review

    Commercial Productions Analysed

    This month we examine some recent hits by Pentatonix, Ed Sheeran, Pink Floyd and Mark Ronson. Plus our Classic Mix, Survivor's Eye Of The Tiger.

    People Mar 2015
  • link

    Sounding Off: Kate Ockenden

    The Impact Of Technology On Students

    Are students too far removed from the nuts and bolts of music-making?

    People Mar 2015
  • link
    Paul White - Editor In Chief

    Are Plug-ins Losing Their Potency?

    Leader

    Over the past few years, top audio professionals have been warning of a global music-quality crisis caused by the...

    People Feb 2015
  • link

    Playback

    Readers' Music Reviewed

    This month music from Unto Us, Future Funk Squad and Jeremy Govero.

    People Feb 2015

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion