You are here

Event ASP8 Monitors – Possible Faults and Problems with my monitors.

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Event ASP8 Monitors – Possible Faults and Problems with my monitors.

Postby Sosabba » Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:15 pm

Hello all!

I just recently bought an Emu 1820M and a pair of Event ASP8 monitors. These are the first active monitors (well, any monitors) I have ever owned. They seemed fine to begin with for playing back albums, but now that I have had them a couple of months and started to use them for recording, I have run into some problems. I am getting in touch with Event and the retailers. In the meantime, as it is all new to me I am not sure which of these problems should be expected (from any monitors), and which are a sign of possible faults or inadequacies. I have no experience to compare with so I hoped some of you out there with more experience may be able to help me out.

1. This one is definitely a fault. When you play the note "F" - especially on a bass guitar, and especially the A string fret 8 "F" - you can hear very clearly that something inside one of the monitors is rattling. I have also tried playing a test tone from my EMU, and anything from about 173 - 177hz makes the same rattle. This is the case even at low volumes, but especially when turned up. I don't want to open them up to see what is rattling as this may void the warranty - but the rattle is clearly from inside the unit. Has anyone experienced something similar with their monitors?

2. Something similar - the other speaker's tweeter rattles. If you push the tweeters casing, the rattle stops. Interestingly, if you press down on top of the speaker this also stops the rattle. If I tighten the screws of the the tweeter's case it may cure it(?), but should these sort of things happen to monitors that retail at over £1000?