You are here

Starquad cable

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Starquad cable

Postby Jay Menon » Mon Aug 17, 2009 8:53 pm

I just read up about starquad cable...two internal cores that cancel each other's interference - like a humbucker?

Anyway, question from a novice here - would you guys use starquad cable in preference to ordinary balanced cable? I'm thinking in terms of microphone cables of 10 metres length...and its for use at home...

Regards
Jay
Jay Menon
Frequent Poster

Re: Starquad cable

Postby christianmurphy » Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:00 pm

I'm no cable pro, but i guess it depends what you want it for... If you just need a decent quality microphone cable, then just buy that.

I can reccomend sommer and klotz, from previous experience.

Starquad is used if theres a bigger risk of interference. I think it would make barely any difference in a home environment...

Christian.
christianmurphy
Regular

Postby Aural Reject » Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:27 pm

Personally, no.

I only use starquad cable if I know I'm going to be exposed to an environment where the possibility of interference is high....and that wouldn't normally be at 'home'....

Starquad also exhibits HF loss over distance.
Aural Reject
Frequent Poster

Postby Jay Menon » Mon Aug 17, 2009 9:40 pm

Thanks Guys... your replies were very informative and useful...!

Regards
Jay
Jay Menon
Frequent Poster

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Mon Aug 17, 2009 11:16 pm

Jay Menon wrote:I just read up about starquad cable...two internal cores that cancel each other's interference - like a humbucker?

I think we know what you mean... but for the uninitiated there are four cores in starquad cable -- the clue in in the 'quad' part of the name ;) -- plus an overall screen.