You are here

MOTU 8pre problem

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

MOTU 8pre problem

Postby sekie » Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:52 am

Dear all SOS members
I use my MOTU 8pre connected via litepipe (ADAT) to connect my DIGIRACK 002. While recording (6 drum tracks connected to the MOTU 8pre) 8 pre crashes i.e. looses connecting to the digirack.

Though first this was due to a signal which would be much too high, but -20db switch activated, the volume knob per channel is almost down to zero and STILL the problem remains.

MOTU 8pre and DIGIrack run on 48 khz

Does anyone has a solution or knows a similar problems

looking fwd to yr replies
thanks
Serge
sekie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:00 am

Re: MOTU 8pre problem

Postby Bob Bickerton » Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:04 pm

Welcome to the forum Sekie.

The MOTU will not simply 'drop out' because the levels are too high.

It will probably be something to do with slaving the DIGI002 to the MOTU on it's ADAT port. I'm not familiar with the 002, but you should have an option to slave it to the device on the ADAT port and the 002 will probably indicate when it is 'locked' to the MOTU.

I assume you're using the 8pre as a stand alone device and that it's not connected to your computer over firewire.

Hopefully an 002 user will pick up this thread and offer further advice.

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4070
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
http://www.bickerton.co.nz

Re: MOTU 8pre problem

Postby sekie » Thu Aug 23, 2007 1:25 pm

Hi Bob,

Thanks for the reply
Yes in the DIGIRACK: Hardware periph. is set to ADAT and it works fine (at the beginning) but during record it hooks up, looses connection to the digirack (I get an error message from protools saying the the extrenal clock divise is lost). I have to switch off/on the MOTU in order to make it work and connect again ....

No Motu 8pre is NOT connected to my A-powerbook
ONLY to the digirack

greetings
Serge
sekie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:00 am

Re: MOTU 8pre problem

Postby Sonic The Hedgehog » Thu Aug 23, 2007 2:50 pm

Have you tried a different ADAT optical cable? Or have you tried running the system at 44.1 instead of 48?
User avatar
Sonic The Hedgehog
New here
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 12:00 am

Re: MOTU 8pre problem

Postby sekie » Mon May 05, 2008 9:17 am

Hi all,

problems is still the same
even with no adat cable connected MOTU 8pre switches itself off.

all phantompower cables disconnected
all phantom p. switches to OFF position

anyone having same problem???


Thnaks
Serge
sekie
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 12:00 am

Re: MOTU 8pre problem

Postby audioartist » Mon May 05, 2008 7:19 pm

sounds like more of a power supply issue to me...are you plugging alot of gear into the same plug socket?
audioartist
Regular
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 12:00 am
Location: herts

Re: MOTU 8pre problem

Postby Bob Bickerton » Tue May 06, 2008 5:48 am

Sounds like a faulty unit. I'd contact the supplier or email MOTU.

Cheers

Bob
User avatar
Bob Bickerton
Jedi Poster
Posts: 4070
Joined: Fri Dec 20, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Nelson, New Zealand
http://www.bickerton.co.nz