You are here

Formant correction of samples?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Formant correction of samples?

Postby Kevin Nolan » Wed May 07, 2008 12:17 pm

Hi -

I'm new to sampling.

Is there software available that will look at a sampled note and formant correct for notes in a range above and below, allowing for those to be also saved as separate samples?

I have a series of samples of a Roland VP-330 , and about every third note is sampled. While they are excellent samples, it's be great to formant correct the intervening notes and save them as samples so that when played, there would be little or no obvious transition to the new sample point.

Alternatively - are there samplers that do such formant correcting on the fly when playing?

thanks,
Kevin.
Kevin Nolan
Frequent Poster
Kevin Nolan,KNECT.
http://www.knect.ie

Re: Formant correction of samples?

Postby Brian Moynihan » Wed May 07, 2008 12:38 pm

Kontakt does this on the fly, though opinions differ about the sound quality. This is also what the Roland Variphrase VP-9000 did, though the polyphony was limited to 6 notes and the interface left a bit to be desired.

I've been looking for a similar tool for an eon, because offline processing of samples is always better than realtime pitch adjustment. For example if you have a single sample and use Prosoniq Timefactory to do an offline shift up 1 semitone while keeping the length the same, it takes a while to run the process but the resultant wav is very smooth with few artifacts. If there were a batch tool where you gave it 1 sample and told it to create equivalents to 2 octaves above and 2 octaves below and turn that into a sampler instrument that would be awesome.