You are here

DI Boxes - Active or Passive

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

DI Boxes - Active or Passive

Postby keeno » Wed May 07, 2008 4:06 pm

Hi all,

Put this in Live Sound already but as it concerns both I thought I'd put it here too! Can anyone tell me what applications I'd need an active or passive DI box for? Not too sure on what to pick for what?

Cheers!
keeno
Regular
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 12:00 am

Re: DI Boxes - Active or Passive

Postby RichD » Wed May 07, 2008 7:29 pm

A DI box is used to give you a line signal from an different level. A passive DI box will only reduce a high signal to line. An Active will increase the signal.
RichD
Poster
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 12:00 am

Re: DI Boxes - Active or Passive

Postby Mike Stranks » Wed May 07, 2008 8:34 pm

Um... No

A DI takes a line level input and produces a mic level output.

The passive variety just uses a transformer, the active uses electronics.

An over-simplification (and doubtless someone will be along very soon to point this out) but unless you're paying a significant sum for a DI, I'd always go for an active.
Mike Stranks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6425
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2003 1:00 am

Re: DI Boxes - Active or Passive

Postby Guy Johnson » Wed May 07, 2008 8:43 pm

Use both. However, a good passive is a gem: Always works! And no noise. Quite often an active, even with reasonable figures, will have hiss. Art seem to be quite good
User avatar
Guy Johnson
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 12:00 am
Location: North Pembrokeshire
This is my few words.

Re: DI Boxes - Active or Passive

Postby Blue Lizard » Wed May 07, 2008 9:01 pm

BSS AR133's are good, solid (active) performers.

Getting a bit more slutty, I usually opt for Radial (the JDI is a lovely passive box, and the J48 it's active partner). 8-)
User avatar
Blue Lizard
Regular
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Cleethorpes, UK
"It's not pretty, also you can't dance to it." - Frank Zappa www.bluelizardstudio.com

Re: DI Boxes - Active or Passive

Postby RegressiveRock » Wed May 07, 2008 9:03 pm

I always use passive although I'm planning to audition a couple of actives shortly, one valve and one transformer plus solid state.

I don't know if this is a rule of thumb or not, but my DIs are either Jensen or custom wound and cost around £200 each. However, that is for studio work where I can keep an eye on the little feckers! ;)

Reg
RegressiveRock
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1540
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Buntingford, Herts
Smoking Goats
https://www.facebook.com/SmokingGoats

Re: DI Boxes - Active or Passive

Postby monosyllabic » Wed May 07, 2008 9:18 pm

Ken I Cummin wrote:Um... No

A DI takes a line level input and produces a mic level output.

Still not quite, but here's the answer to the original posters question.

GIYF
User avatar
monosyllabic
Poster
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 12:00 am

Re: DI Boxes - Active or Passive

Postby RegressiveRock » Wed May 07, 2008 9:20 pm

monosyllabic wrote:
Ken I Cummin wrote:Um... No

A DI takes a line level input and produces a mic level output.

Still not quite, but here's the answer to the original posters question.

GIYF

Heh! I'm a contributor to that article... :crazy: :tongue:
RegressiveRock
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1540
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 12:00 am
Location: Buntingford, Herts
Smoking Goats
https://www.facebook.com/SmokingGoats


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hugh Robjohns, jellyjim, Kwackman, Sam Spoons, Wonks