You are here

Garage Band Recording Setup? $500 budget

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Garage Band Recording Setup? $500 budget

Postby lepardman » Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:26 pm

I just want to thank everyone for the help in my last thread, I love recording music and you guys have helped me tremendously.

--

I want to start recording some music with my friends. I'm very new at this, keep in mind.

We have a guitar, piano, and vocals. So potentially 3 mics needed? Idk
1 for acoustic guitar
1 for piano (not electric)
1 for vocals?

I have a windows 10 laptop to use to record with Reaper/Other audio programs.

We are just wanting to recording music at a semi decent level, we dont need amps or anything.

Thanks!
lepardman

Re: Garage Band Recording Setup? $500 budget

Postby blinddrew » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:00 pm

Ok, assuming we're starting from scratch, and you want to record everything at the same time.
Firstly you're going to need an interface with at least 3 mic pres (assuming you're miking the guitar not DIing it).
Options there are things like the Steinberg UR44 at around £220 (which comes with a basic version of Cubase bundled in) or things like the Tascam US16x08 at about £200 (which doesn't come with the software but gives you the scope to record more channels in the future).
Microphone wise, you can pick up a cheap pair of small diaphragm condensers for as little as £50 but stretching to £100 wouldn't do you any harm. £50 for stands and cables is probably doable if you hunt around, leaving you about £150 for a large diaphragm capacitor for vocals.

All of that is going to be bargain basement stuff but it'll be enough to be starting with, and if you're anything like me, it'll be a while before your kit is the weakest link in your recording and producing chain. :)
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Postby Sam Spoons » Tue Feb 13, 2018 9:52 pm