You are here

Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Tue Mar 20, 2018 3:34 pm

Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit? Is it safe from malware? How good is it? Would anyone recommend it?
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:11 pm

I do get one search result on Google claiming the website had virus alerts. For now I think I'll be sticking to SampleTank

EDIT: One bad search result among many more good ones. Maybe I shouldn't jump the gun with this
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby OneWorld » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:15 pm

I have been using it for a year or so, it is perfectly safe, no malware etc. I think the developer just gave up on it, seeing as he was up against the big companies like NI with Studio Drummer and others like ezDrummer, BFD etc

It is quite limited, but very very easy to use. I have the divil of a job trying to get separate outputs working in Studio Drummer, in Manda it is so easy, but there's only one kick, one snare etc it does however have quite a few grooves and fills included, if you want to throw a quick drum track together, using a VST that consumes hardly any resources, Manda is the best I have encountered.

Had it been sold in a more comprehensive kit and the price was competitively priced, I would have bought it. But when I say 'more comprehensive' not quite so comprehensive as for example Groove Agent 4, which I bought because I couldn't get along with Studio Drummer. All I needed is say 6 kits, jazz, funk, rock, percussion, pop but Groove Agent has zillions of them - R&B, Dance'n'Trance, Grime & Filth etc etc etc
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2360
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:20 pm

Ah right. Maybe I'll give it a go after all...

Whenever I see "freeware" on the internet my first though is always... "too good to be true?"

Doing more Googling suggests that the overwhelming majority of people say it is safe and very good.
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby OneWorld » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:23 pm

garrettendi wrote:Ah right. Maybe I'll give it a go after all...

Whenever I see "freeware" on the internet my first though is always... "too good to be true?"

Doing more Googling suggests that the overwhelming majority of people say it is safe and very good.

Yes I am equally wary when I see 'freeware' which for the main part is an anagram for 'trouble and strifeware' or "please come and dump some krap on my computer ware"
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2360
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby Forum Admin » Tue Mar 20, 2018 6:04 pm

I've used it for approximately 2 years now. No malware. OneWorld sums it up nicely, but it's strength, for me, is in offering the essence of SD, EZD, BFD etc in a freeware package. It's so quick and easy to use to string some MIDI drum parts together, then replace the sounds later. I use it for noodling, when I'm developing a song on guitar usually, when I want more than a 4-bar or 8-bar repetition.

It's one 'kit' is rock-focused, but it's easy enough to map the MIDI part to an alternative set of sounds in your DAW.

It's free - try it?
User avatar
Forum Admin
Moderator
Posts: 2958
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: A studio deep in the fenlands of Cambridgeshire, UK
SEARCH 10,310 top articles: www.soundonsound.com/search
*NEW* SOS Tutorials: www.soundonsound.com/tutorials

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby James Perrett » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:38 pm

I've used it on a couple of projects and it works well. While it may only have one set of sounds, they're very workable sounds and the included rhythms work well if you are working in a suitable genre. I've also tried Melda's MTDrummer Small which may also be worth trying if you need a wider range of genres (although I didn't find it as easy to use as Power Drum Kit).
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 7606
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby blinddrew » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:57 pm

Another user here, in fact that was one of my overdue donations-to-freeware-suppliers at the weekend so I'm feeling a bit happier about using it as well. :)
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5335
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:17 pm

Does it have a multiple output thing? So could I have separate tracks, one for kick, one for snare, etc etc?
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby blinddrew » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:26 pm

I'd need to have a play and see. That's not how I've used it to date. I've just played an ekit in to one midi track and added this as the VSTi. It has it's own built in mixed in the interface but I'd need to check about splitting it all out onto different tracks.
User avatar
blinddrew
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5335
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2015 12:00 am
Location: York
Ignore the post count, I have no idea what I'm doing...

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:28 pm

A quick Google suggests that in Reaper you can tell it to output to 8 tracks

I’m using Mixbus but I hope it’s the same
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby Forum Admin » Wed Mar 21, 2018 10:12 am

garrettendi wrote:Does it have a multiple output thing? So could I have separate tracks, one for kick, one for snare, etc etc?

You can set each sound in the Mixer to a different output... but I'm not in my studio so cannot check at the moment.

The video explains most things: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FsmA1cFH5YQ

I just dump it onto a MIDI track and 'explode pitches' to split the sounds/tracks and assign other samples to the pitches if required. Lots of ways to use it.

It's free - just download and try it, and using it will answer all your questions. :-)
User avatar
Forum Admin
Moderator
Posts: 2958
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: A studio deep in the fenlands of Cambridgeshire, UK
SEARCH 10,310 top articles: www.soundonsound.com/search
*NEW* SOS Tutorials: www.soundonsound.com/tutorials

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Wed Mar 21, 2018 10:14 am

Yup! Just downloaded it today and will try it tonight!
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby Forum Admin » Wed Mar 21, 2018 10:31 am

If you use it, and continue to, don't forget to donate something to the developer.
User avatar
Forum Admin
Moderator
Posts: 2958
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: A studio deep in the fenlands of Cambridgeshire, UK
SEARCH 10,310 top articles: www.soundonsound.com/search
*NEW* SOS Tutorials: www.soundonsound.com/tutorials

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Wed Mar 21, 2018 10:34 am

Forum Admin wrote:If you use it, and continue to, don't forget to donate something to the developer.

Will do hopefully! It's as little as €9!

How does it work before I donate? I know there is the screen that you can skip, but is there any delay before it starts working or any limitations?
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby Forum Admin » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:14 am

It works as soon as you download it and install. It's a VST or AU Unit plug-in, so just instantiate it on a track -- then play!

You can come back to donate later.
User avatar
Forum Admin
Moderator
Posts: 2958
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: A studio deep in the fenlands of Cambridgeshire, UK
SEARCH 10,310 top articles: www.soundonsound.com/search
*NEW* SOS Tutorials: www.soundonsound.com/tutorials

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:15 am

:thumbup:

Looking forward to giving it a bash tonight!
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby OneWorld » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:32 pm

garrettendi wrote:Does it have a multiple output thing? So could I have separate tracks, one for kick, one for snare, etc etc?

Yes you can have 8 separate outputs and these are easily selected from the mixer page, once they've been activated in the VST Instruments page.

I'm another one of those that forgot to donate! Need to sort that now, it genuinely is one of those freeware gems and developers of such apps should be rewarded for their graft.
OneWorld
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2360
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 12:00 am

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby James Perrett » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:56 pm

garrettendi wrote:How does it work before I donate? I know there is the screen that you can skip, but is there any delay before it starts working or any limitations?

You just click on the plug-in display each time you open a session that uses it. If you don't click on the display you get no sound from the plug-in.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 7606
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: Does anyone here use Manda Audio Power Drum Kit?

Postby garrettendi » Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:59 pm

James Perrett wrote:You just click on the plug-in display each time you open a session that uses it. If you don't click on the display you get no sound from the plug-in.

Thanks! Hopefully I'll donate sometime soon to get rid of that.
User avatar
garrettendi
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 1:00 am
Despite my post count, I know nothing. Think of me as the court jester!

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users