You are here

White noise when using Zoom H6 as a USB interface

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: White noise when using Zoom H6 as a USB interface

Postby Petri » Wed Jan 23, 2019 8:02 pm

I have a similar setup and a similar problem, except that the white noise comes and goes randomly. Sometimes everything works hours without any trouble and other times I can't get rid of the noise. Can't see the logic.

In Adobe Audition's Hardware settings I use ASIO device class and "Zoom H and F Series Multi ASIO". If the noise starts and I change the I/O Buffer Size, the noise stops, but usually the noise comes back in a little while. I think the noise has something to do with the Audio Hardware settings.

I have tried to follow some instruction found in the internet, but without final solution.
Petri
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 7:37 pm

Re: White noise when using Zoom H6 as a USB interface

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:39 pm

Sounds like a buffer size issue. Try working with the largest buffer available and see if that cures it, and if so, experiment with progressively smaller buffers until you find the minimum size that allows your computer to work properly with the Zoom interface.

It may also be that your computer is busy doing all manner of non-audio related things which is why a larger buffer is required. Turning off unnecessary functions (like email polling etc) may well help. Others here can offer far more guidance on that than I.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 24333
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: White noise when using Zoom H6 as a USB interface

Postby Petri » Fri Jan 25, 2019 12:12 am

Thank you Hugh for validating my hunch. I am using both desk top and lap top (both PC) and they both seem to need individual buffer settings. At the moment Surface Pro 3 needs buffer size 256 in order to run in Zoom H6's Stereo Mix Mode and three years old Dell desk top needs 512, which raises latency issues. Anyway, I getting closer to get things done. Thanks!
Petri
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 7:37 pm


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users