You are here

Where does conversion happen?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Where does conversion happen?

Postby awjoe » Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:10 pm

Where does A/D D/A conversion happen - in the interface, or in the CPU? And does it matter?

FWIW, I'm getting a new interface, and I think it's going to be a Presonus Studio 26.
User avatar
awjoe
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2291
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:00 am

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby Sam Inglis » Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:33 pm

In the interface. It matters in the sense that it's not something a CPU could actually do...
Sam Inglis
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2328
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2000 1:00 am

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby awjoe » Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:11 pm

Got it. Thanks.
User avatar
awjoe
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2291
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:00 am

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:45 am

Yes, in the interface. The computer works only with digital bits not analogue signals, so the analogue world gets converted into a digital form in the interface for the computer to munch on, and then converted back when the computer spits out the answers.

H
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 21790
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby wireman » Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:10 pm

awjoe wrote:Where does A/D D/A conversion happen - in the interface, or in the CPU? And does it matter?

FWIW, I'm getting a new interface, and I think it's going to be a Presonus Studio 26.

The interface has connections for the audio signal and somewhere on the circuit board inside there will be an Integrated Circuit (IC) that converts between analogue signals and digital ones. Something like this. ICs like these have pins for the audio analogue data and digital data and convert between the two.

The interface can communicate the audio digitally to a computer using the USB connection, the CPU in a computer can only work on digital data (formed of bits that are 1 or 0) although these are represented by voltages those voltages are only interpreted as 1 or 0.
wireman
Regular
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2004 1:00 am

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby The Red Bladder » Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:17 pm

awjoe wrote:Where does conversion happen.
17, Oil Drum Lane,
Ashby,
Scunthorpe.

Ask for Mrs Millie Toolie.
The Red Bladder
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2112
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 12:00 am
Location: . . .
 

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby Hugh Robjohns » Sat Sep 15, 2018 3:10 pm

I don't think he was looking for the kind of conversion Millie Toollie (Mrs) is offering... :o :lol:
User avatar
Hugh Robjohns
Moderator
Posts: 21790
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Technical Editor, Sound On Sound

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby CS70 » Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:22 pm

Nowadays mostly in Africa I suppose
User avatar
CS70
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2860
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video  and the FB page

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby awjoe » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:59 am

I decided to ask for two reasons, the first being that one of the specs for the Presonus interface is '32 GB of hard disk space' and it got me wondering what happens on the computer side of things when A's are getting converted to D's. Hugh and wireman made it clear - the computer can't deal with analogue.

Also, I wondered how long it would take for the first jokes to come in after my straight line. :)
User avatar
awjoe
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2291
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:00 am

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby Rich Hanson » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:14 pm

The disk space requirements are simply for the bundled software (in this case likely to be Studio One Artist).
Rich Hanson
Frequent Poster
Posts: 804
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:00 am
Location: UK

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby awjoe » Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:52 pm

There needs to be space for Studio One, yes, but surely the DAW doesn't need 32 Gb? I'd've thought more like 1 Gig for a DAW.
User avatar
awjoe
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2291
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:00 am

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby Wonks » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:16 am

Bound to be bundled sampler playback software with a reasonably sized playback library. You'll also need future space for recording your tracks.

I'd suggest that 32GB is a provision to ensure the software loads smoothly and runs well. If you've got less free space on your disk before loading, then you could be filling a lot of that up. And a lot of operating systems need a reasonable amount of space in order to move files around and for cacheing. If the amount of free space drops too far, then the computer can seriously slow down, making DAW use problematic.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 6109
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Now even grumpier than Ivan in his heyday.

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby awjoe » Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:11 am

Thanks, Wonks. If I hang around here long enough, I'll eventually learn everything. (About four lifetimes, I think.)
User avatar
awjoe
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 2291
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:00 am

Re: Where does conversion happen?

Postby Rich Hanson » Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:19 pm

Yup, Studio One Artist comes with a fair amount of sample data for the Presence XT instrument.
Rich Hanson
Frequent Poster
Posts: 804
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:00 am
Location: UK


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users