You are here

Where does conversion happen?

Page 1 of 1

Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:10 pm
by awjoe
Where does A/D D/A conversion happen - in the interface, or in the CPU? And does it matter?

FWIW, I'm getting a new interface, and I think it's going to be a Presonus Studio 26.

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 4:33 pm
by Sam Inglis
In the interface. It matters in the sense that it's not something a CPU could actually do...

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 5:11 pm
by awjoe
Got it. Thanks.

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 10:45 am
by Hugh Robjohns
Yes, in the interface. The computer works only with digital bits not analogue signals, so the analogue world gets converted into a digital form in the interface for the computer to munch on, and then converted back when the computer spits out the answers.

H

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 12:10 pm
by wireman
awjoe wrote:Where does A/D D/A conversion happen - in the interface, or in the CPU? And does it matter?

FWIW, I'm getting a new interface, and I think it's going to be a Presonus Studio 26.

The interface has connections for the audio signal and somewhere on the circuit board inside there will be an Integrated Circuit (IC) that converts between analogue signals and digital ones. Something like this. ICs like these have pins for the audio analogue data and digital data and convert between the two.

The interface can communicate the audio digitally to a computer using the USB connection, the CPU in a computer can only work on digital data (formed of bits that are 1 or 0) although these are represented by voltages those voltages are only interpreted as 1 or 0.

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 1:17 pm
by The Red Bladder
awjoe wrote:Where does conversion happen.
17, Oil Drum Lane,
Ashby,
Scunthorpe.

Ask for Mrs Millie Toolie.

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 3:10 pm
by Hugh Robjohns
I don't think he was looking for the kind of conversion Millie Toollie (Mrs) is offering... :o :lol:

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 9:22 pm
by CS70
Nowadays mostly in Africa I suppose

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:59 am
by awjoe
I decided to ask for two reasons, the first being that one of the specs for the Presonus interface is '32 GB of hard disk space' and it got me wondering what happens on the computer side of things when A's are getting converted to D's. Hugh and wireman made it clear - the computer can't deal with analogue.

Also, I wondered how long it would take for the first jokes to come in after my straight line. :)

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:14 pm
by Rich Hanson
The disk space requirements are simply for the bundled software (in this case likely to be Studio One Artist).

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 8:52 pm
by awjoe
There needs to be space for Studio One, yes, but surely the DAW doesn't need 32 Gb? I'd've thought more like 1 Gig for a DAW.

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:16 am
by Wonks
Bound to be bundled sampler playback software with a reasonably sized playback library. You'll also need future space for recording your tracks.

I'd suggest that 32GB is a provision to ensure the software loads smoothly and runs well. If you've got less free space on your disk before loading, then you could be filling a lot of that up. And a lot of operating systems need a reasonable amount of space in order to move files around and for cacheing. If the amount of free space drops too far, then the computer can seriously slow down, making DAW use problematic.

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:11 am
by awjoe
Thanks, Wonks. If I hang around here long enough, I'll eventually learn everything. (About four lifetimes, I think.)

Re: Where does conversion happen?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 1:19 pm
by Rich Hanson
Yup, Studio One Artist comes with a fair amount of sample data for the Presence XT instrument.