You are here

Recording Levels Very Low but Playback Very Loud

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Recording Levels Very Low but Playback Very Loud

Postby Neil Ninja » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:14 pm

Absolute beginner here. I'm trying to record drum patterns from my Alesis SR16 through a M Audio interface into Sonar/Cakewalk. Gains on interface are just touching '1' with Output on '5 or 6'. Sonar recording level set to '0'. When recording, the sound is barely audible - even through headphones - but on playback it's blasting!! The same thing happens when I try to record my Roland GO-Keys. I'm using Windows 7. Can anyone please advise (in simple terms). Thanks.
Neil Ninja

Re: Recording Levels Very Low but Playback Very Loud

Postby Zukan » Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:29 pm

Sounds like your monitoring needs attention. It seems the signal is healthy but monitoring is exhibiting a low signal, is that correct?
Zukan

Postby CJmastering » Fri Sep 21, 2018 4:48 pm

Sonar recording level set to '0'. When recording, the sound is barely audible
One thing you need to know is that playback and recording levels are controlled by 2 different things.

1.) The recording levels are controlled by everything before it hits your audio interfaces converters .This means SONAR has no control over the recording signal's level.

2.) The monitoring (playback) levels are controlled by SONAR and your Monitors and maybe your audio interfaces cue mix, if it has one.

This is why they are at different levels

CJ
CJmastering
Poster
Online Audio Mixing and Mastering - Pro Online Mixing & Mastering, TV Commercials & Audio books

Audio Mixing Tips

Postby CS70 » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:13 am