You are here

can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

Postby zout » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:18 pm

Hi everybody
i hope i m in the right section of the forum!

i got a pc hooked to a midisport 4x4 and i was hoping to slave the sbx 80 so i could use 1 of its DIN sync socket to hook up a tb303.
i downloaded the manual , but cant find any mention of the sbx being able to be slave...
only master...

am i missing something or it s not the right tool for the ,job???


thanks already

and a good week end to all ( we re friday night as i post this ;-) )



alex
zout
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:00 am
zout

Re: can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

Postby CJmastering » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:44 pm

I have not used one in years, but if i remember correctly, it was just for syncing and not for slaving. It was so long ago, i could be wrong.
User avatar
CJmastering
Poster
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:39 pm
Location: Ft Lauderdale / Miami
Online Audio Mixing and Mastering - Pro Online Mixing & Mastering, TV Commercials & Audio books

Audio Mixing Tips

Re: can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

Postby James Perrett » Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:50 pm

According to the thread at

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/electro ... c-box.html

the MIDI input doesn't respond to clock messages.

However, you could always use it in the way it was intended to be used by sending an audio timecode signal to it and then have it generate the DIN sync signal. You can either record the timecode on an audio track in your DAW or, if you happen to use Reaper, you can have Reaper generate timecode which it will send to a spare output on your audio interface.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

Postby zout » Fri Sep 21, 2018 6:15 pm

i ll investigate that option!


thanks a lot James!!!


cheers
zout
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:00 am
zout

Re: can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

Postby zout » Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:04 am

James Perrett wrote:According to the thread at

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/electro ... c-box.html" target="phpbbpopup

the MIDI input doesn't respond to clock messages.

However, you could always use it in the way it was intended to be used by sending an audio timecode signal to it and then have it generate the DIN sync signal. You can either record the timecode on an audio track in your DAW or, if you happen to use Reaper, you can have Reaper generate timecode which it will send to a spare output on your audio interface.


this is rocking ....
indeed i m trying to get to grips with reaper at the moment
(i got another midi prob with reaper but it s for another topic... ;-) )
but i admit not finding a way to route the timecode to a different output

i found i needed to extend the range of outputs to get access to the rest of the output (focusrite 18i20)

i found the routing button on the mixer track

but despite setting up the hardware output to another channel i still have the TC in the main mix!

Am i missing something here?
zout
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:00 am
zout

Re: can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

Postby James Perrett » Sat Sep 22, 2018 12:48 pm

Open up the routing matrix window (on the View menu), disable the master output on the timecode track and then choose the output that you want to use.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page

Re: can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

Postby zout » Sun Sep 23, 2018 9:47 am

James Perrett wrote:Open up the routing matrix window (on the View menu), disable the master output on the timecode track and then choose the output that you want to use.

Hi james ( again!!! )
This is what i Needed!!!
So thank you ( again!! :-D)
Routing matrix!!!!

I just opened reaper, did that !!!
And lo and behold the sbx obviously receives .... Something!!
The display shows the frame'...? (top right of screen ... Not sure because it goes all'the say up to 99 and rhen back to 0)


I also gathered there s a midi side to the routing matrix...

This should resolve the midi prob i was reffering to in a previous'post!

So again thank you!

I believe I m not on top of things yet.

IMO the sbx should display a time in hours min sec and finaly frames or am i wrong?
Also i set the frame rate in reaper to 25fps ( sbx is 25fps) hoping that was the prob
But still no Hh:min:sec display...

I did not hook up the 303 yet , thinking i 1st need the sbx to be in sync...
Should i try nonetheless?
I admit not needing the time precison , merely the sync so the 303 plays in sync to the DAW.

Thanks already and a nice sunday to all!!!
zout
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:00 am
zout

Re: can the roland sbx 80 be slave to a midi clock?

Postby James Perrett » Sun Sep 23, 2018 2:18 pm

Yes, the frame rates need to match and the SBX needs to be set to chase the timecode. It may also be worth adjusting the level of the timecode you send to the SBX - I think Reaper sends quite a high level by default so it may be worth reducing it to see if that works better.
User avatar
James Perrett
Moderator
Posts: 7604
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2001 12:00 am
Location: The wilds of Hampshire
JRP Music - Audio Mastering and Restoration. JRP Music Facebook Page


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jdthom